April 26, 2008

photos by Allen Earl Photography


Forecasters had given a slim chance of any racing in east Tennessee on Saturday night, yet the Tazewell Speedway faithful drivers and fans enjoyed a full night of racing. The first feature of the night was the 4 cylinder division with the starting field determined by drawing. Cheyenne Kite and James Parrott made up the front row of the eight car field. Chuck McMahan arrived too late for the draw and was forced to start in the last position. At the drop of the green Kite showed the way with Parrott and Brad Pressley giving chase. By lap number four McMahan was challenging Curtis Jones for fourth and entered a three-way battle for third with Pressley and Jones. On lap number six, race leader Kite suffered a flat tire giving the lead over to Parrott. Lap number nine found McMahan passing Parrott for the top spot and on the following lap Parrott’s car overheated in turns 3 & 4. From then it was McMahan capturing his second win of the year followed by Jones, Pressley, Josh Fields and Bubby Braden.

4 Cylinder Results

1. 44 Chuck McMahan
2. 4 Curtis Jones
3. 19 Brad Pressley
4. 11 Josh Fields
5. B7 Bubbu Braden
6. 7 Hayston Collett
7. 10 James Parrott
8. 9 Cheyenne Kite.

The next feature was the Modified Street Division with Charlie Rouse capturing his first ever pole position at Tazewell Speedway. Last week’s winner Jody Horton shared the front row with Rouse. At the start of the race Rouse had a great lead over Horton, Andrew Loving, Dustin Harville and Chris Collinsworth. On lap number six the leaders started catching up with lap traffic and Horton was closing the gap on Rouse. Just when it looked like it might be Rouses’s night, his car started smoking on lap number nine and on the next lap the motor finally let go in turn number one with flames under the hood. On the restart it was Jody Horton followed by Loving, Harville, Tony Horton and Collinsworth. Tony horton took over third on lap 13 and on the next lap Collinsworth dropped out with rear axle problems. The rest of the race was Jody Horton’s to lose as he held off Loving, Tony Horton, Dustin McMurray and Clyde Overholt for his second win in a row. In Victory Lane Horton said he “didn’t have anything for the 24 car (Rouse) and was just hanging on for the long haul.” The Sneedvile driver’s car is sponsored by Greasy Rock Auto Shop and Discount Auto Parts.

Modified Street Results

1. 56j Jody Horton
2. 8 Andrew Loving
3. 56 Tony Horton
4. 21 Dustin McMurray
5. 4 Clyde Overholt
6. 3 Tim Hatfield
7. 7 Dixon Greenwood
8. 74 Steve Wilder
9. 15 Dustin Harville
10. Zero 1 Jonathan Poore
11. 20 Scott Atkins
12. 77 Chris Collinsworth
13. 24 Charlie Rouse
14. 18 Anthony Standifer
15. 12 Daniel Carpenter

Steel Head Late Model action found the familiar 90j of Jason Trammel sharing the front row with last week’s winner Travis Fultz. The first lap was lead by Trammel followed by Fultz, James England, Freddie Brock and Keith Chapman. Brock spun out on his own on the next lap bring out the race’s first caution. By lap thirteen Fultz starting challenging Trammell for the lead only to get caught up in lap traffic. Trammel set his Sun Electric Company, Fast Lane Graphics, A-1 Storage Trailers, Vic Hill Racing Engines sponsored Warrior Race Car on cruise control to pick up his second win of the season and his 29th Steel Head Late Model victory at Tazewell Speedway.

Steel Head Late Model Results

1. 90j Jason Trammell
2. T0 Travis Fultz
3. 2 James England
4. 7B Mike Bright
5. 24 Andy Wilder
6. 33 Philip Nichols
7. 0 Freddie Brock
8. 97 Keith Chapman
9. XXX Josh Chesney
10. G7 Billy Gordon DNS
11. 77 Steve Carr DNQ

Brad Hall was the fastest qualifier in West Chevrolet FASTRAK Crate Late Model action. Jason Trammel challenged Hall on lap number two with Anthony Arnwine, Justin Smith and James England rounding out the top five. Smith spun on his own on lap number eight and again on lap number twenty on his Crate Late Model start. Up front it was Brad Hall unchallenged as he collected his second win in a row.

West Chevrolet FASTRAK Crate Late Model Results

1. 47 Brad Hall
2. 90j Jason Trammell
3. 11 Anthony Arnwine
4. 2 James England
5. 7 Justin Smith
6. 9 Justin Duncan
7. G7 Billy Gordon

The most action packed feature of the night was the Pure Street division with 24 cars starting. Michael Boy started on the pole and led the first lap with Steve Smith, Jason Long, Michale Daniels, and Charles Barnett the top five. On lap number two Smith shot to the inside of Boyd to take over the point. Throughout the race the top five cars battled each other, lap traffic and several cautions. After a restart on lap number the car of Boyd stalled on the front strecth with a stuck transmission giving the lead over to Smith who held on to pick up first win of the season. Smith’s Camaro Pure Street car is sponsored by Shane’s Body Shop and La Esperanza Mexican Restaurant.

Pure Street Results

1. 2 Steve Smith
2. 15 Jason Long
3. 10 Daniel Carpenter
4. M35 Matt Tharp
5. 28 Buster Cupp
6. 12H Travis Helton
7. 01 Luke Sharp
8. 22 Charles Davidson
9. 17 Josh Brock
10. 18 Junior Cody
11. 8 Tony Eads
12. 3 Michael Boyd
13. 94 Dustin Eldridge
14. 00 Heather Poore
15. 97 Aaron Guinn
16. 55 Jack England
17. 40 Donnie Brown
18. 39 Johnny Miller
19. 12 Michael Daniels
20. 12X Jerry Green
21. 92H Jordan Horton
22. 97 Bo Hall
23. 10 Charles Barnett
24. 17 Tim Stevens









Copyright© 2005-Present. All Rights Reserved
Site Developed by
DJ Designs & Maintained by MRM Web Designs