June 7, 2008

photos by Allen Earl Photography


Tazewell, TN-June 7, 2008- The Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series Open Wheel Modified division presented by Graphic Impressions returned to action on Saturday night at Tazewell Speedway and Joey Kramer of Hanover, IN would pick up second win of the season and $2,000 for his victory at the 1/3 mile East Tennessee red clay oval.
Kramer’s victory at “The Taz” was his fourth series win of the season and 17th career series win came aboard the Claudette Kramer owned FOX Custom Cabinets/Wild’s Restoration Service/Larry’s Truck Service/Hill’s Historic Painting/Bright Beginnings Child Care/SuperATV.com sponsored #77 Lightning Chassis powered by a Bullock by Kramer Race Engine.
Don Adams of London, KY would finish second once again in the Car Star/Fast Company sponsored Lightning Chassis unit, with Skylar Marlar of Winfield, TN finishing third in the Marlar’s Auto Mart/Doors and More sponsored Performance Chassis machine. Stanley Donahoo of White Pine, TN would come home fourth at the checkered flag, with Wayne James of Newport, TN claiming fifth in the Steve’s Heating and Air/West End Exxon sponsored Performance Chassis mount.
In preliminary action, Kurt Owens was top qualifier among 21 entries with a lap time of 12.969 seconds. Qualifying heat checkered flags would go to Brandon Green in K&N Performace Engineering heat one, Stanley Donahoo in Graphic Impressions heat two, and Joey Kramer in Real Racing Wheels heat three. Tim York would garner the PPM Racing Products Hard Charger award after starting 18th and finishing ninth.

Battle of The Bluegrass Dirtcar Series Open Wheel Modified Results
1. 77 Joey Kramer
2. 66 Don Adams
3. 257 Skylar Marlar
4. 00 Stanley Donahoo
5. 4 Wayne James
6. 34 Robbie Gullion
7. 52t Shawn Tolson
8. 0 Kelley Warren
9. 21 Tim York
10. 14 Kurt Owens
11. 20 Mick Sansom
12. 36 Billy Palmer
13. 6 Brandon Green
14. 181 Aaron Ogle
15. 8 Shane Back
16. B00 Josh Henry
17. 19 John Harrell
18. 12 Kevin Copher

In the Steel Head Late Model feature Jason Trammell of Lake City, TN picked up his fifth win of the season as he bested Travis Fultz and Kip Pearson. Trammell's Vic Hill Racing Engines powered Warrior Chassis is sponsored by Tobbler Heating and Air, Fast Lane Signs & Graphics and Trammell Construction Company.

Steel Head Late Model Results
1. 90 Jason Trammell
2. T0 Travis Fultz
3. 00 Kip Pearson
4. 97 Keith Chapman
5. 8 Mike Reece
6. 15 Mike Lewis
7. XXX Josh Chesney
8. 77 Steve Carr
9. G7 Gary Blanken
10. 7B Mike Bright
11. 20 Richard Ely
12. o Freddie Brock
13. 28 Jamie Allen
14. 24 Andy Wilder
15. 43 Matt Tharp

At the beginning of the season Brad Davis said that he wanted to take some time off from racing and spend more time fishing. That wouldn't last long as his crew and sponsors got the familiar blue number 88 back into racing trim. The first start for Davis a few weeks ago would be short lived as motor problems spoiled his season debut. Dejected, Davis wasn't really for sure if he stil wanted to continue the season after getting behind in the points chase. He had also fucused his attention on helping his team mate Chris Collingsworth improve the handling on his race car. What Davis didn't know was that his crew had secretly sent his engine back to Curl Racing Engines. Last week Davis finished finished a strong fifth while Collingsworth finished a season's best third. Saturday night the duo set a goal to prove their muscle to the conmpetition. Davis would time in the quickest qualifying lap with Collingsworth having the second best time. In the feature, Davis pulled out to a three car length lead as Collingsworth held off challenges from Andrew Loving, Allen Holt and Jody Horton. Davis lead every lap of the feature to pick up his first win of the season in his Petty Wrecker Service, Laurel Marina & Yacht Club, Curl Racing Engines sponsored Camaro.

Modified Street Results
1. 88 Brad Davis
2. 77 Chris Collingsworth
3. 8 Andrew Loving
4. 56J Jody Horton
5. 24 Allen Holt
6. 56 Tony Horton
7. 15 Dustin Harville
8. 21 Dustin McMurray
9. 3 Tim Hatfield
10. 74 Steve Wilder
11. 17 Leonard Bray
12. 69 Nick Barnard
13. 01 Jonathan Poore
14. 20 Scottie Atkins
15. 31 Greg Estes

For the first time Hobby Stocks raced at Tazewell Speedway on Saturday night with a familiar driver in Victory Lane. Mike Hodges of Morristown had found success over the years in the Pure Street and Modified Street divisions at Tazewell Speedway. He used that experience to his advantage picking up the win over Dale Reed and Dustin Shaver.

Hobby Stock Results
1. M2 Mike Hodges
2. 52 Dale Reed
3. 7 Dustin Shaver
4. 75 Chris Long
5. 30 Mike Mayes
6. 54 Bobby Reed
7. 79 Jessie Wilder
8. 38 Patrick Flannery
9. 1 Jamie Whitt
10. 13 Everett Cobb
11. 1B Ralph Mills

In 4 cylinder action, Chuck McMahan picked up his fourth win of the season. After the feature track officials checked the McMahan's motor and he was determined to be legal.

4 Cylinders Results
1. 99 Chuck McMahan
2. 11 Josh Fields
3. K9 Cheyenne Kite
4. 7 Bubby Braden
5. 10 David Creech
6. 007 hayston Collett
7. 19 Brad Pressley
8. B00 Shawn Henry
9. B01 Brandon Johnson

Josh Brock of Corbin, KY picked up his second win of the year in Pure Street. After the race Brock's motor was protested and deemed legal. Finishing order was unavailable at press time.

Pure Street Results
1. 17 Josh Brock
2. 94 Dustin Eldridge
3. 12X Jerry Green
4. 15 Jason Long
5. 92H Jordon Horton
6. 12 Michael Daniels
7. 18 Junior Cody
8. 10 Daniel Carpenter
9. 01 Luke Sharp
10. 97 Aaron Guinn
11. 36 Kevin Smith
12. 00 Heather Poore
13. 97H Clyde Overholt
14. 55 Jack England
15. 2 Steve Smith
16. 3 Michael Boyd
17. 16 Will Carey
18. 8 Tony Eads
19. 38 Scott Gray
20. 29 Travis Cody
21. 17 Tim Stevens

Next Saturday night, June 15 we will be back to regular racing action featuring our Steel Head Late Models, West Chevrolet FasTrak Crate Late Models, Modified Street, Pure Street and 4 Cylinder division.








Copyright© 2005-Present. All Rights Reserved
Site Developed by
DJ Designs & Maintained by MRM Web Designs