June 14, 2008

photos by Allen Earl Photography


Coaches and mentors tell us that with peristance and practice we can reach our goals. That is just what happened Saturday night as Tazewell native Mike Reece captured his first career win leading every lap of the Steel Head Late Model feature. Reece was the fastest qualifier and shared the front row of the feature with Travis Fultz. At the drop of the first green Fultz jumped the start and the field was reset. On the restart Reece charged his Reece Monument sponsored Warrior Race Car with a Clements Race Engines powerplant to the front. Throughout the first 15 circuits Fultz worked his way to Reece's back bumper diving low to gain the advantage. Each time Reece would hold off the challenge. The caution flag fell on lap 21 as Phillip Nichols spun in turn number two. This would bunch the field up and as Reece started to widen the gap, Fultz was busy holding off Kip Pearson for the runner-up spot. In the end persistance paid off as Reece celebrated in Victory Lane with his son and crew as his father watched proudly from the stands.

Steel Head Late Model Results
1 8 Mike Reece
2 T0 Travis Fultz
3 00 Kip Pearson
4 33 Philip Nichols
5 5 Anthony Burchett
6 11 Brian Dobbs
7 XXX Josh Chesney
8 43 Matt Tharp

Several new drivers showed up to try and collect the $400 from Brad Hall who was searching for his sixth victory in a row at The Taz. Among the drivers were Bobby Mays, Kelly Glass, Tony Trent and Jeff Maupin. Hall once again set quick time and shared the front row with Morristown's Allen Champ. As the field roared out of turn four on the start Champ would get loose and tap the outside wall slowing down for a moment before catching back up to the field. Behind Hall a heated battle ensued between Glass and Mays as they swapped paint many times during the feature. Even with new bounty hunters no one was able to catch the Warrior Race Car of Hall as he picked up his sixth win in a row.

West Chevrolet FASTRAK Crate Late Models
1 47 Brad Hall
2 19 BobbyMays
3 01 Kelly Glass
4 11C Allen Champ
5 28 Jesse Helton
6 70 Kip pearson
7 B00 Josh Henry
8 5 Travis Trent
9 117 Ryan Carey
10 18 Tony Trent
11 0 Jeff Maupin

Brad Davis came into Saturday night's action carrying momentum from his strong win the previous weekend. After setting fast time it was Davis's race to lose. From the drop of the green and throughout the first 10 laps Davis tried to make his car as wide as possible as James Weaver looked everywhere for a place to pass Davis cleanly. Weaver was having quite a time holding off Allen Holt and Leonard Bray. As the action was going on up front Jody Horton was slipping his way through traffic toward the front after starting ninth. He would have to settle for third as Davis earned back-to-back wins.

Modified Street Results
1 88 Brad Davis
2 20X James Weaver
4 56J Jody Horton
5 31 Greg Estes
6 24 Allen Holt
7 56 Tony Horton
8 8 Andrew Loving
9 21 Dustin MacMurray
11 77 Chris Collinsworth
12 17 Leonard Bray
12 75 Chris Long
13 20 Scottie Atkins
14 74 Steve Wilder
15 34 Les Bradley
16 15 dustin harville
17 00 Rodney Brantley
18 69 Nick Barnard
19 3 Tim Hatfield

Before this season Josh Brock of Corbin, Ky had never raced on dirt. After his success so far this season he may never want to go back to racing on asphal as he picked up his third win of the season after starting in sixth. At the drop of the green the action was fast and furious and the yellow flag quickly came out as Will Carey lost control as crossed right in front of Johnny Miller who had nowhere to go. After making contact Carey's car flipped he escaped unharmed. On the restart Joprdan Horton took the top spot. Every week the Pure Street drivers become more and more competitive. An exciting three way battle waged for second place between Brock, Jerry Green and Michael Daniels. On lap nine Brock took over the point and set his Brock Excavating sponsored Camaro on cruise control on his way to his third win of the season.

Pure Street Results
1 17 Josh Brock
2 12 Michael Daniels
3 12X Jerry Green
4 97 Aaron guinn
5 94 Dustin Eldridge
6 71 Wayne Abner
7 92h Jordan Horton
8 22 Charles Davidson
9 8 Tony Eads
10 39 Johnny Miller
11 3 Michael Boyd
12 01 Luke Sharp
13 15 jason long
14 27 Gary Harville
15 97 Clyde Overholt
16 16 Will Carey
17 40 Donnie Brown

In 4 cylinder action it was Chuck McMahan dominating the feature as as he qualified on the pole almost seven tenths of a second quicker than Cheyenne Kite and leading every lap and picking up his second win in a row.

Four Cylinder Results
1 99 Chuck McMahon
2 K9 Cheyenne Kite
3 11 Josh Fields
4 7 Bubby Braden
5 19 Brad Pressley
6 007 hayston collett
7 J5 Jamie James
8 10 David Creech









Copyrightę 2005-Present. All Rights Reserved
Site Developed by
DJ Designs & Maintained by MRM Web Designs