The O'Reilly Auto Part Battle of the Bluegrass Open Wheel Modified Series
visited Tazewell Speeedway Saturday night on their only visit to a track
in the state of Tennessee on their 2009 tour. Nineteen open wheel
modified cars from three states were on hand to vie for the $2000 to win
feature. Kelly Warren of Columbia, KY would set fast time among the
entries. Preliminary heat races were won by Josh lucas, Don Adams and
current BoB points leader Joey Kramer of Hanover, IN, who was looking to
win his fourth open wheel race at Tazewell Speedway.
At the start of the forty lap feature contact betwen Don Adams and
outside pole sitter Josh Lucas would result in both cars pulling pitside.
This would not be the end of the attrition as the track turned rough
quickly. After lining the field single file Joey Kramer would inherit the
lead, yet on the restart he would pull his mount to the pits with
mechanical trouble. This gave the lead over to Kelly Warren who would
stretch out a sizable lead until a caution on lap eleven when he retired
with suspension woes. Keith Longmire of Wartburg would take over the top
spot and lead until lap eighteen when he lost a driveshaft. After one
more caution Battle of the Bluegrass officials decided to shorten the
race to 30 laps with Bryan Barber of Greensburg, KY the leader in his
first trip to the high banks of Tazewell Speedway. Barber would hang on
to win his first feature of the year in the Cox Wrecker Service,
Frankland Racing Supply, Jay Dickens Racing Engines powered Bandit Race

Battle of the Bluegrass Open Wheel Modified Results
1.10 Bryan Barber
2.00 Stanley Donahoo
3.28 J.T. Ayers
4.181 Aaron Ogle
5.911 Jason Hall
6.18 Russ Jones
7.77 Joey Kramer
8.93 Keith Longmire
9.36 Billy Palmer
10.0 Amos Bunch
11.17 Josh Brock
12.4 Wayne James
13.0 Kelly Warren
14.22 Jason Bowers
15.34 Robbie Gulliuon
16.99 Randy Turpin
17.78 Josh Lucas
18.09 Don Adams

Attrition would also take it's toll in the Limited Late Model feature.
Pole sitter Steve Carr lined up beside Jason Trammell on the front row
and at the drop of the green they raced door to door all the way around
to turn four making contact causing Carr to come to a stop. The restart
found the two banging doors again coming our of turn four when Trammell's
mount got sideways blocking the track and collecting the cars of Keith
Chapman, Anthiny Burchett, Brad Hall and Travis Fultz. Track officials
then decided to line the cars in single file. Carr would lead the early
laps until caution flew on lap five for Travis Fultz who suffered a flat
tire after contact from behind by Brad Hall. Fultz would continue after
changing the tire and going to the tail of the field. On lap eight Keith
Chapman would drop out after running a strong third position. Carr looked
to be the car to beat until lap fourteen when he got loose between turns
one and two and was collected by Trammell who had nowhere to go. Carr
would retire giving the lead to Trammell while Phillip Nichols and Fultz
would battle for second. Nichols began to close the gap on Trammell until
lap twenty when he spun on his own in turn one. During the caution
Trammell pulled pitside giving the lead over to Fultz who hung on to win
his second feature in a row in the Harrogate Collision, Fultz Automotive,
DJ's Performance Race Engines, Rayburn Mopar.

Limited Late Model Results
1.T0 Travis Fultz
2.31 Brad Hall
3.7 Marty Calloway
4.90 Jason Trammell
5.33 Phillip Nichols
6.24 Andy Wilder
7.77 Steve Carr
8.6 Steve Rouse
9.18 Michael Rutherford
10.97 Keith Chapman
11.0 Andrew Loving
12.18 Anthony Burchett

Kurt Owens of Newport, TN would use his fast qualifier position to take
the early lead in the 4 Cylinder feature over Joey Allen. Allen would
stay close to Owens throughout the feature and the duo were side by side
on the final lap with Owens gaining the advantage and score his second
win of the season in the 7Up Mustang.

4 Cylinder
1.7UP Kurt Owens
2.A00 Joey Allen
3.99 Chuck McMahan
4.13 Scottie Frazier
5.19 Brad Pressley
6.K9 Cheyenne Kite
7.7 Bubby Braden
8.007 Hayston Collett
9.J5 Jamie James
10.10 Bobby Lovin
11.A27 Allen Holloway

In Modified Street action Tony Horton earned his first pole of the season
and lined up alogside points leader Brad Davis for the front row of the
feature. The two would encounter lap traffic by lap number 6 and on the
following lap Horton would slow with a flat tire and ignition problems
giving up the lead to Davis who would pull out to a half-track lead over
the rest of the field and pick up his second win of the season in the
Tri-State RV, Minors Marine, Petty's Wrecker Service, Bill Curl Racing
Engine powere Chevy Camaro.

Modified Street Results
1.88 Brad Davis
2.33 Warren McMahan
3.31 Greg Estes
4.3 Tim Hatfield
5.54 Larry Burke
6.20 Scottie Atkins
7.24 Allen Holt
7.4 Clyde Overholt
8.21 Dustin McMurray
9.69 Nick Barnard
10.56 Tony Horton
11.1 Billy Brock
12.17 Leonard Bray
13.56J Jody Horton
15.21 Donnie Petty
77 Chris Collinsworth DQ

Josh Brock the youngster from London, KY made his first appearance of the
year at The Taz and score the Pure Street feature victory after taking
over the lead from Mike Kelley on lap eleven in the Brock Excavating
sponosred Chevy Camaro.

Pure Street
1.17 Josh Brock
2.56 Jordan Horton
3.3 Michael Boyd
4.8 Mike Kelley
5.55 Charlie England
6.01 Luke Sharp
7.27 Gary Harville
8.2 Steve Smith
9.16 Will Carey
10.11 Tracy Wolfe
11.41 Jonathan Miracle
12.12X Jerry Green

This Saturday night June 13th we will be back to regular weekly racing
featuring Super Late Models, Limited Late Models, Modified Street, Pure
Street and 4 Cylinder divisions.


Winner's photos from June 6, 2009