East Tennessee veteran racer Vic Hill of Morristown came to Tazewell Speedway Saturday to help set up the car owned by his friend John Tweed. The car was actually one of Hill's that he had won with before so he knew how to tweak the chassis to make it tame the high banks of The Taz. Rick Rogers of Knoxville would set fast time in time trials and share the front row of the feature alongside his close pal Hill. Rogers stormed out to the early lead followed by Hill, Mike Weeks, Jason Trammell and Brian Smith. Hill would begin putting pressure on Rogers for the lead on lap seven using the low groove of the track. The following lap the duo raced door-to-door with Hill slipping by Rogers on the back stretch on lap twelve and score his third win of the season at Tazewell Speedway in the Pilot Travel Centers, LandAir Transport, Vic Hill Racing Engines powered, American Race Tires shod GRT Monte Carlo.

Super Late Models
1.5 Vic Hill
2.44 Rick Rogers
3.22 Mike Weeks
4.7 Brian Smith
4.3 Steve Smith
5.14 JJ Templeton
6XXX Josh Chesney
7.24H Phil Helton
8.90J Jason Trammell
9.7 Marty Calloway

After winning the last three Limited Late Model features, track rules dictated that Harrogate's Travis Fultz could start no better than fifth no matter how well he qualified. Teammates Jason Trammell and Keith Chapman started on the front row with Chapman taking the early lead. By lap three Fultz had already slipped into the third spot. On lap six, as the leaders were storming out of turn four, Mike Bright moved up right in front of Chapman who had nowhere to go sending his car and Bright's spinning down the front stretch. Trammell and Fultz were also involved with only minimal sheet metal damage. Chapman was able to continue and regain his top position. On lap nine Fultz passed Trammell and set his sights on Chapman. On the twelfth circuit Fultz dove low in turn one to overtake Chapman and earn his fourth win in a row in the Harrogate Collision, Fultz Automotive, DJ's Performance Engines sponsored Rayburn Dodge Charger.

Limited Late Models
1.T0 Travis Fultz
2.97 Keith Chapman
3.90 Jason Trammell
4.33 Phillip Nichols
5.18 Michael Rutherford
6.45 B.J. Morris
7.11 Anthony Arnwine
8.11 Josh Fields
9.31 Greg Estes
10.6 Steve Rouse
11.7B Mike Bright
12.0 Freddie Brock

In Modified Street action, Allen Holt would inherit the lead on lap number two as pole sitter Donnie Petty spun out in turn four. Holt would hold off all challengers and score his second win of the season in the Get Gorgeous, Conner Asphalt & Paving sponsored, Curl Racing Engines Powered Monte Carlo.

Modified Street
1.24 Allen Holt
2.31 Greg Estes
3.1 Wayne Overholt
4.7 Dustin Shaver
5.77 Chris Collinsworth
6.4 Clyde Overholt
7.21 Dustin McMurray
8.88 Brad Davis
9.4 Jesse Helton
10.54 Larry Burke
11.17 Leonard Bray
12.73 Ray Jarnigan
13.5 Sue Curl
14.3 Tim Hatfield
15.20 Scottie Atkins
16.21 Donnie Petty
17.33 Warren McMahan

The bad luck bug struck Steve Smith in the Pure Street feature as he took the lead on from the green and was crusing to victory when he collided with a lap car on lap seventeen sending him to the tail of the field. Jason Long would take over the lead and pick up the win.

Pure Street
1.15 Jason Long
2.97 Aaron Guinn
3.12H Travis Helton
4.2 Steve Smith
5.16 Will Carey
6.12 Michael Daniels
7.27 Gary Harville
8.27 Johnny Simpson
9.33 Phillip Gentry
10.18 Junior Cody
11.56 Jordan Horton
12.66 Daniel Reece
13.48 Charles Barnette
14.33 Daniel Massengill
15.10 Daniel Carpenter
16.12X Jerry Green
17.47 Walter Disney
18.11 Kevin Smith
19.J35 John Chesney
20.3 Michael Boyd

After drawing the pole position, Cosby's Joey Allen led every lap of the 4 Cylinder feature for his first Tazewell Speedway Victory in the Nathan's Body Shop, Ford Trucking, Allens Railroad Contracting Ford Taurus.

4 Cylinder
1.A00 Joey Allen
2.7UP Kurt Owens
3.K9 Cheyenne Kite
4.99 Chuck McMahan
5.19 Brad Pressley
6.A27 Allen Holloway
7.J5 Jamie James
8.7 Bubby Braden
9.10 Bobby Lovin
10.007 Hayston Collett

In the Kids Foot Races, Jada Woods, Houston Hatfield, Kara Loy, Riley Thompson, Sara Grooms, Austin Atkins, and Hunter Carpenter won their respective age class and win a new bicycle for their efforts.
This Thursday Night July 2nd will be the Mid Season Championship at Tazewell Speedway with all divisions racing for double points. There will also be a fireworks show.
On Sunday night July 5th we welcome back the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series for the running of the Toyota Knoxville 75 paying $10,000 to win. The country's elite Super Late Model drivers will be on hand along with the regions best to vie for the top prize. Get there early as we expect our biggest crowd of the season. For more info please call 423.626.2222


Winner's photos from June 27, 2009