For the fifth year in a row the O'Reilly Auto Parts Southern Nationals used the high banks of Tazewell Speedway for the finale of their grueling tour that visits 10 different tracks in the Southeast in 13 days. The 2009 tour started on July 13th in Wytheville, VA and travelled through North Carolina, Georgia, and Alabama before winding up the tour in east Tennessee. Tazewell Speedway is the only track to host a race every year since the inception of the Southern Nationals by Super Late Model standout Ray Cook.
Twenty-eight of the region's best Super Late Model drivers would sign in to compete for the 53 lap, $5,300 to win feature.

After a long rain delay, Powell's Steve Smith turn the quickest lap in time trials with Petros, TN driver Joe Armes posting the second quickest time. Tommy Kerr of Rockwood would only have to start the feature to secure the 2009 Southern Nationals Points Championship after a dominating performance the night before winning at Volunteer Speedway. As Smith and Armes brought the field out of turn four for the start of the race, Smith jumped out front and as he stormed into one his motor would expire ending his night. Armes would take over the lead followed by Jimmy Owens, Shon Flanary, Chris Madden and Jeff Cooke. Armes would pull out a five car length lead over Owens who was looking for the right racing line to gain an advantage. The leaders would run into lap traffic around lap 25 with Armes carefully slipping through.

Finally on lap 45 Owens seized the oppurtunity diving low in turn two and overtaking Armes on the back stretch. With car owner Mike Reece watching from the stands, Owens would seal the deal in the Reece Monument, Gantte Apprasals, Wear Development, Alwee Trucking Company, Byrds Radiator sponsored Bloomquist Race Car with a Cornett Thunder Engine. Tommy Kerr would capture the 2009 Southern Nationals Championship pocketing $5,300 for his efforts. Batesville, Arkansas's Jared Landers earned Rookie of the Year honors.

Results of O'Reilly Southern Nationals Series Event #10 of 10
Tazewell Speedway (Tazewell, Tennessee)
Saturday, July 25, 2009

Car Count: 28

1 (3) Jimmy Owens $5,300
2 (5) Chris Madden $2,500
3 (2) Joe Armes $1,500
4 (9) Jonathan Davenport $1,000
5 (4) Shon Flanary $900
6 (7) Vic Hill $800
7 (8) Rick Rogers $750
8 (6) Jeff Cooke $725
9 (11) Billy Ogle, Jr. $700
10 (16) Tony Knowles $675
11 (21) Dennis Franklin $650
12 (13) Terry Wolfenbarger $625
13 (15) David Payne $600
14 (17) Marty Calloway $590
15 (23) Jared Landers $580
16 (10) Ivedent Lloyd $575
17 (18) Bryan Hendrix $570
18 (12) Tommy Kerr $560
19 (20) D.J. Wells $555
20 (22) Michael Smith $550
21 (24) Chad Ogle $545
22 (19) Jeff Wolfenbarger $540
23 (14) Jason Trammell $535
24 (1) Steve Smith $530

American Racer Tires B-Main #1 (Top Six Advance): Billy Ogle, Jr. Terry Wolfenbarger, David Payne, Marty Calloway, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Dennis Franklin, Chad Ogle, Daniel Baggerly, Justin Rattliff

Hoosier Racing Tires B-Main #2 (Top Six Advance): Tommy Kerr, Jason Trammell, Tony Knowles, Bryan Hendrix, D.J. Wells, Michael Smith, Brian Smith, Jared Landers, Shannon Thornsberry

- Integra Shocks Fast Qualifier ($50.00): Steve Smith 11.252
- Lap Leaders: Steve Smith (Lap 1), Joe Armes (Laps 2-44), Jimmy Owens (Laps 45-53)
- Time of Race: 30 Minutes, 15 Seconds
- Cautions: 3 (Laps 1, 15, 19)
- PPM Racing Products Hard Charger of the Race ($50.00): Dennis Franklin (21st to 11th)
- Barry Wright Race Cars Highest Finisher ($100.00): Jonathan Davenport
- Rocket Chassis Highest Finisher ($100.00): Tony Knowles
- GRT Race Cars Highest Finisher ($100.00): Shon Flanary
- SHY Racing Suspensions 7th Place Award ($70.00): Rick Rogers
- DBR Performance Starters Middleman Award ($75.00): Terry Wolfenbarger
- GW Performance Highest Finisher ($50.00): Jimmy Owens
- Integra Shocks Highest Finisher ($50.00): Jared Landers
- American Racer Tires Highest Finisher (1 Tire): Jonathan Davenport
- Wilwood Engineering Tough Brake Award ($50.00): Brian Smith
- Provisionals: Jared Landers & Chad Ogle

Brad Davis, driving the West Haven Speed Equipment, Pettys Wrecker Service Camaro earned his fourth win of the season holding off close friend Robbie Buchanan.

Modified Street
1.88 Brad Davis
2.1 Robbie Buchanan
3.31 Greg Estes
4.4 Clyde Overholt
5.56J Jody Horton
6.54 Larry Burke
7.17 Leonard Bray
8.77 Chris Collinsworth
9.69 Nick Barnard
10.20 Scottie Atkins
11.56 Tony Horton
12.7 Dustin Shaver
13.5 Sue Curl
14.3 Tim Hatfield
15.33 Warren McMahan
16.P21 Gary Blanken
17.24 Allen Holt
18.9 Darrell Saylor

In Limited Late Model action, Clinton's Mark Leach would lead every lap of the feature in the Byrds Radiator, American Race Tires, Stealth Racing Carbs sponsored DWB Chassis Cadillac.

Limited Late Models
1.66 Mark Leach
2.T0 Travis Fultz
3.90 Jason Trammell
4.33 Phillip Nichols
5.31 Greg Estes
6.18 Anthony Burchett
7.97 Keith Chapman
8.6 Steve Rouse
9.11 Josh Fields
10.8 Mike Reece
11.45 BJ Morris
12.24 Andy Wilder
13.0 Freddie Brock
14.35 Andrew Loving
15.18 Michael Rutherford

In the Pure Street feature Jason Long and Kevin Smith would battle early with Smith overtaking Long on lap 9. The celebration was cut short as a post-race inspection found that Smith and Long both had illegal engine parts. This would give the win to Steve Smith.

Pure Street
1.2 Steve Smith
2.12 Michael Daniels
3.27 Gary Harville
4.55 Jack England
5.66 Daniel Reece
6.23 Paul Whitley
7.41 Jonathan Miracle
8.56 Jordan Horton
9..1 Brian Carpenter
10.16 Will Carey
11.29 Eddie Stewart
DQ 15 jason long
DQ 11 Kevin Smith

Chuck McMahan picked up his fourth win of the season in the 4 Cylinder feature.

4 Cylinder
1.X Chuck McMahan
2.K9 Cheyenne Kite
3.7UP Kurt Owens
4.A27 Allen Holloway
5.5 Kenny Absher
6.J5 Jamie James
7.007 Hayston Collett
8.19 Brad Pressley
9.10 Bobby Lovin
10.7 Bubby Braden


Winner's photos from July 25, 2009