With August's sticky hot days the aptly titled Summer Sizzler proved that the action on the track
could be just as hot.

The Summer Sizzler was a two night joint venture with Volunteer Speedway to
showcase the area's best Super Late Model drivers. Each night would pay $3000 to win plus a $1000
bonus to the driver with the best average finish of both nights. Kerry Jones of Bristol lead all
fifty laps of the feature Friday night at Volunteer Speedway followed by Mark Vineyard and Jeff
Maupin. None of these three would opt to come to Tazewell Speedway to try for the $1000 bonus.

Eighteen Super Late Models signed in on Saturday night with Morristown's Vic Hill earning fast time
with a lap of 11.395 seconds. Mike Weeks of Friendsville would qualify second. Hill suffered an oil
line leak the night before relegating him to a thirteenth place finish. This would all but put him
out of the running for the bonus.

At the drop of the green in the fifty lap feature Hill let it be known that he was out to erase the bad luck he had the night before. Weeks, Steve Smith, Anthony White and Tommy Kerr would battle for the top five. On lap twelve Kerr stormed past Weeks and White to take over second. Kerr would use the bottom groove to try and track down Hill who had the advantage coming off the corners. A scare came on lap thirty-one as Hill was catching the cars on the tail of the field. While trying to navigate around the car of Greg Estes they would make contact sending Estes spinning down the back stretch bringing out the caution.

On the restart Hill had his hands full holding off Kerr who worked high and low trying to find an advantage. In the end it was Vic Hill earning his fourth Tazewell Speedway victory of the season in the LandAir Transport, Miller Brothers Coal, Pilot Travel Centers, American Race Tires GRT Race Car powered of course by a Vic Hill Racing Engine. Kerr who finished second would earn the $1000 best average finish bonus. Shon Flanary would be awarded $500 for having the second best overall finish between the two nights. A special thank you goes to Pizza Plus, National Auto Parts & Service, Sunoco Race Fuels, Bearden Oil Company, Pilot Oil Company, Sunbelt Rentals, Hoosier Race Tires and American Race Tires for helping sponsor the Summer Sizzler. Also a big thanks goes to Bill Reed for bringing everything together.

Super Late Models
1.1 Vic Hill
2.4T Tommy Kerr
3.98 Shon Flanary
4.5 Bryan Hendrix
5.11 Stacy Boles
6.14 Terry Wolfenbarger
7.114 Billy Ogle
8.T0 Travis Fultz
9.4 Ricky Arms
10.2 Anthony White
11.90J Jason Trammell
12.7 Marty Calloway
13.31 Greg Estes
14.22 Mike Weeks
15.28 Jeff Wolfenbarger
16.44 Rick Rogers
17.4 Michael Smith
18.3 Steve Smith

The most tense moments of the night came in the Modified Street feature. Greg Estes would earn fats time and line up alongside Warren McMahan on the front row. On the second lap contact was made between Larry Burke and Dixon Greenwod sending a wheel off of Burke's car sailing over the turn two catch fence and striking veteran racer Jack Trammell and a crew member. As of press time Trammell it was reported that Trammell suffered a broken leg from the incident. Warren McMahan would hold off all challengers to record his third win of the season in the Dykes Excavation, Dandridge Service Station, Jabo's Pharmacy, Supreme Towing sponsored Monte Carlo.

Modified Street
1.33 Warren McMahan
2.31 Greg Estes
3.24 Allen Holt
4.56J Jody Horton
5.5 Sue Curl
6.M7 Mike Simpson
7.88 Brad Davis
8.20 Scottie Atkins
9.26 Anthony Morgan
10.3 Tim Hatfield
11.56 Tony Horton
12.P21 donnie Petty
13.17 Leonard Bray
14.7 Dixon Greenwood
15.54 Larry Burke
16..77 Chris Collinsworth
17.7 Dustin Shaver
18.69 Nick Barnard

Brians Store, Kentucky's Steve Smith would set fast time in Pure Street qualifying. He would start alongside Jonathan Miracle on the front row of the feature. Before the first lap could be completed Jack England would flip in turn four. England was able to walk away uninjured. On the restart Smith would slow coming out of turn four. As he tried to guide his car down low out of the racing lane, Aaron Guinn would make heavy contact ending his night. From there it was Jonathan Miracle in the Thomas Noah Motorsports Monte Carlo winning his second feature in a row.

Pure Street
1.41 Jonathan Miracle
2.12H Travis Helton
3.12 Michael Daniels
4.16 Will Carey
5.27 Gary Harville
6.2 Steve Smith
7.Z7 Charlie Bates
8.22 Charlie Davidson
9.15 Jason Long
10.47 Walter Disney
11.97 Aaron Guinn
12.56 Jordan Horton
13.66 Daniel Reece
14.55 Jack England

Last year's 4 Cylinder points champion Chuck McMahan held off Joey Allen for his fifth win of the season in the Hitch Racing Engines, Mr. Plumber sponsored Ford Mustang.

4 Cylinder
1.X Chuck McMahan
2.A00 Joey Allen
3.7UP Kurt Owens
4.19 Brad Pressley
5.7 Bubby Braden
6.A27 Rowland Whitehead
7.28 Justin James
8.007 Hayston Collett

Winner's photos from August 8, 2009

Tommy Kerr - Summer Sizzler Shootout points winner
Shon Flanary - Summer Sizzler Shootout points ruuner-up