April 9th - The Tazewell Speedway crew fought Mother Nature and won on this night as the track went through a couple of storms that included hard rain, lightning and some light hail along with a rainbow.

The night was for the Tazewell Late Models as they took to the track for the first time in 2011. After the cars ran the clay surface in the track looked to be ultra-fast and smooth with the exception of a small dip in turn one. The cars hot-lapped and then qualified with the best time in Tazewell Late Models going to Travis Fultz with a lap of 11.911 seconds.

The second group of cars to qualify were the modified street. Warren McMahan grabbed the pole for this class with a lap of 13.766 seconds. The Tazewell Speedway Classics were next to battle the clock and Logan Dukes got the pole with a lap of 14.673 seconds. The drivers of the pure street class brought their cars to the high banks next with a fast lap of 15.847 seconds belonging to Steve Smith.

The modified street class opened the racing action up with Tony Horton and Warren McMahan on the front row. At 9:41 flagman Bruce Caylor turned the pack loose. McMahan with Tony Horton in tow circled the track with ease as the rest of the pack lost touch. Clyde Overholt found third place and settled in. McMahan got the win, Tony Horton second and Clyde Overholt third.

Modified Street Results:
1 33 Warren Mcmahan
2 56 Tony Horton
3 4 Clyde Overholt
4 54 Larry Burke
5 56H Jordan Horton
6 88 Brad Davis
7 17 Leonard Bray
8 P21 Robbie Buchanan
9 XXX Josh Chesney
10 24 Kenneth Holt
11 3 Tim Hatfield
12 20 Scottie Atkins
13 22 Jason Sizemore
14 88 Danny Helton

The feature event of the night was next and the Tazewell Speedway late models lined up on the frontstretch to battle the high banks and each other. Leading them to the green was Travis Fultz and Jason Trammell. Last season the two put on a great show as the points battle came down to the last few races. Tonight's race also had multi-champion Rick Rogers driving the car usually piloted by Phillip Nichols. As the cars sped into turn one Fultz got a jump leaving the other thirteen behind him. Allen Holt and Rick Rogers were racing hard in the middle of the pack until a caution on lap six slowed the pace. On the restart it was Fultz, Trammell and Keith Chapman the top three. By lap eight Rogers was trying to overtake Chapman but needed to find a bit more speed to get it done. A lap eleven caution once again gave the field another shot as Anthony Burchett's machine had trouble and left the race as well as Jody Horton. On the restart Fultz again powered out to a nice lead. Rogers went back to work on Chapman but this would prove to be a hard spot to gain. On lap 14 Rogers gently leaned on Chapman to take the spot. On lap eighteen Allen Holt's night was over as he left the racing surface. With another shot at Fultz the top three seemed to be able to stay with the leader longer in the run but Fultz got away again. Rogers then lost traction in turn four and slipped back to fourth place. Fultz got the win, Trammel second and Chapman got his third place back from an aggressive driving Rick Rogers who finished fourth.

Tazewell Late Model Results:
1 T0 Travis Fultz
2 90J Jason Trammel
3 97 Keith Chapman
4 33 Rick Rogers
5 7 Brian Smith
6 66 Mark Leech
7 73 Ray Jarnigan
8 75 Chris Long
9 1 Matt Shockley
10 24 Allen Holt
11 18 Anthony Burchett
12 56J Jody Horton
13 31 Greg Estes
14 14 Earl Brimm
15 24 Andy Wilder

The Tazewell Speedway classics were next to race being led to the green by a front row consisting of Logan Dukes and Robbie Sands. Dukes got the advantage early but Sands did not lose contact with the leader. Last week's winner Joe Keck settled in at third. The two out front split a lap car on lap eighteen and that was what Sands needed to get the win. Dukes finished second and Joe Keck grabbed third.

Classic Car Results:
1 17 Robbie Sands
2 6 Logan Dukes
3 8 Joe Keck
4 1 Robby Robinson
5 7 Jim Yeary
6 74 Laurence Mcgeorge

Pure street was next with Steve Smith and Jonathan Miracle in the front row. The two touched going into turn one with Miracle taking the point. Jason Long was now in second and Smith was off the track. On lap fourteen Apaches Quinton was left stopped in turn four victim of contact with another car. The race restarted with Miracle going on to take the checkers over Long and Quinton. Justin James finished fourth.

Pure Street Results:
1 41 Johnathan Miracle
2 15 Jason Long
3 15 Apaches Quinton
4 28 Justin James
5 26 Jason Whitaker
6 93 Dustin Farmer
7 77 John Stevens
8 C5 Daniel Carpenter
9 2 Steve Smith

The final race of the night was the four-cylinder feature with the front row consisting of Allen Holloway and Bubby Braden. Chuch McMahan had came from fourth spot to grab the lead by the end of the second lap. He would drive on to the win, his second in a row over braden and Mark Wallace.

Four Cylinder Results:
1 99 Chuck McMahan
2 B7 Bubby Braden
3 1 Mark Wallace
4 A27 Allen Holloway