May 21, 2011 - Tazewell Speedway had a big night of racing action on the schedule which included nine feature races as the speedway tried to make up some of the features that were rained out two weeks ago. The day had a summer time feel to it as the speedway began to fill with track workers, fans, drivers, crews and their awesome dirt-racing machines. After the track was packed the hot laps began followed immediately by the qualification runs for the Tazewell Late Models. The fastest time was recorded by Travis Fultz with a lap of 12.195 seconds. The Modified Street class was next to race the clock and Jordon Horton fired off the quickest lap at 13.646 seconds. The Tazewell Classics were next and Logan Dukes took the pole with a lap of 14.455 seconds. The Pure Street class wrapped up qualifying and Kevin Smith took the pole with a lap of 14.427 seconds.

The speedway then lined up the Four-Cylinders for their make up race and feature number one of the night which was won by Allen Holloway with Bubby Braden and Mark Wallace finishing out the top three spots.

Four Cylinder Results (May 7 make-up):
1 A27 Allen Holloway
2 B7 Bubby Braden
3 1 Mark Wallace
4 99 Chuck McMahan
5 4 Jerry Ledford

The Tazewell Classics were next with their make up feature and Logan Dukes battled Robbie Sands for the win with Dukes taking the checkers over Sands and Joe Keck.

Classic Car Results (May 7 make-up):
1 6 Logan Dukes
2 17 Robbie Sands
3 8 Joe Keck
4 7 Jim Yeary
5 1 Allen Holloway
6 34 Phillip Shockley

The final make up race featured the Pure Street class. Dustin Eldridge took the early lead in this one and held off a hard-charging Jonathan Miracle for the win. Apaches Quinton finished third.

Pure Street Results (May 7 make-up):
1 94 Dustin Eldridge
2 41 Jonathan Miracle
3 15 Apaches Quinton
4 15 Jason Long
5 O7 Tony Spoon
6 26 Jason Whitaker
7 93 Dustin Farmer
8 77 John Stevens
9 28 Justin James
10 R2 Brian Osband

It was now time for Saturday's regular racing program to begin and to start it off right the fan favorite Modified Street class took to the track. Jordon Horton and Rick Welch led the field to green but after it took four attempts to finish lap one the real action finally began. Horton ended up in the turn three wall and his night was over. The top three then were Welch, Gary Blanken and Robbie Buchanan. The race resumed and the top three raced hard. By lap five , Warren McMahan had joined the top three. On lap eleven Welch too was done for the night as his machine broke giving the lead over to Blanken. From that point on the race belonged to Blanken who held off Buchanan and McMahan.

Modified Street Results:
1 5 Gary Blanken
2 P21 Robbie Buchanan
3 33 Warren McMahan
4 4 Clyde Overholt
5 22 Jason Sizemore
6 44C Tony Horton
7 3 Tim Hatfield
8 24 Kenneth Holt
9 17 Leonard Bray
10 20 Scottie Adkins
11 18 Rick Welch
12 77 Chris Collinsworth
13 55 Howie Sturgill
14 1 Scott Johnson
15 54 Larry Burke
16 56H Jordan Horton
17 56 Jody Horton

Next to race was the Tazewell Late Models and they were led to the green by Travis Fultz and Greg Estes. Fultz and Estes stayed in front of Steve Carr and Jason Trammell until a lap sixteen caution flag for a flat tire on Phillip Nichols' ride slowed the action. On the restart Fultz moved out to a nice lead that was erased by a lap nineteen caution. The race resumed and a four car pile up was the outcome. This one happened in turns three and four. The leaders managed to avoid the crash and the race restarted with the top three being Fultz, Estes and Carr. On the restart Carr went high in turn two and Trammell took third. Fultz held off Estes and Trammell for the win.

Tazewell Late Model Results:
1 T0 Travis Fultz
2 31 Greg Estes
3 90J Jason Trammel
4 O7 Jimmy Calloway
5 77 Steve Carr
6 18 Anthony Burchett
7 7 Brain Smith
8 18 Michael Rutherford
9 33 Phillip Nichols
10 11 Anthony Arnwine
11 14 Earl Brimm
12 24 Andy Wilder
13 24 Allen Holt
14 G7 Billy Gordon
15 97 Keith Chapman
16 56J Jody Horton
17 75 Chris Long
18 21 Brian Howerton

The visiting Hobby Stocks were next and Jamie Whitt jumped to the lead over Robbie Woods and Sue Curl but on lap four Woods had fell out of the race and Curl moved into second with Devin Helton now third. A second caution was displayed on lap seven but the top three spots were unchanged. On the restart the Shannon Davidson got by for third and set his sights on the leader. By lap thirteen Curl had gotten second back but Whitt was out front with little to no pressure as another caution was displayed. On the restart Whitt had no trouble taking it all the way to the checkers. It was his third win at Tazewell. Curl and Davidson rounded out the top three.

Hobby Stock Results:
1 1 Jamie Whitt
2 5 Sue Curl
3 4 Shannon Davidson
4 79 Jessie Wilder
5 52 Jason Light
6 2 Robbie Woods
7 9 Eddie Adams
8 28 Devin Helton

Pure street raced next with Kevin Smith taking the lead. Behind him were Miracle and Apaches Quinton. Steve Smith was pressuring Quinton for third by lap two as the leader, Smith was still looking formidable at the point. Miracle went after Smith's lead and several times looked as if he would get the momentum to make a pass but was not able to complete the pass until lap nine only when Smith had mechanical issues and retired for the night. The top three was now Miracle, Quinton and Steve Smith. On the restart Miracle kept everyone behind him and took the win.

Pure Street Results:
1 41 Jonathan Miracle
2 15 Apaches Quinton
3 2 Steve Smith
4 26 Travis Fultz
5 15 Jason Long
6 12 J.J. Green
7 94 Dustin Eldrige
8 58 Kevin Smith
9 O7 Tony Spoon
10 5 Jason Saylor
11 93 Dustin Farmer
12 77 John Stevens
13 28 Justin James
14 14 Austin Atkins

The Classics were next and Logan Dukes held off a very hard charging Robbie Sands for the win. Joe Keck finished third.

Classic Car Results:
1 6 Logan Dukes
2 17 Robbie Sands
3 8 Joe Keck
4 7 Jim Yeary
5 1 Allen Holloway
6 7X Jay Eubanks

The final race of the night was the Four-Cylinder class and this one was won by last year's Four-Cylinder champion, Joey Allen. Braden and Holloway rounded out the top three. After nine feature races the program had ended just before midnight.

Four Cylinder Results:
1 A00 Joey Allen
2 B7 Bubby Braden
3 A27 Allen Holloway
4 1 Mark Wallace
5 OO7 Hayston Collet
6 22 Ethan Hansard

On Saturday, May 28th Tazewell Speedway will hold the first kids night of the year. In addition to a full race program, fireworks and dollar hot dogs there will be foot races for kids ages 6-9 and 10-13 with bikes and trophies given away to the winners. Everyone that participates in the foot races will be given a free Tazewell Speedway T-shirt. Bring your kids on out and watch them have the time of their lives on the high banks of the Taz ! The Lucas Oil series will be back in town on Friday night, June 3rd so be making plans to come watch dirt racing's finest challenge the high banks of the bad fast 1/3 mile speed plant. For more information on Tazewell Speedway log on to www.tazewellspeedway.net or search for Tazewell Speedway on Facebook. Tazewell Speedway once again thanks its fans for all the support it is given on a weekly basis.