June 3, 2011 - Last week the Lucas Oil Series filled the Tazewell Speedway stands with people coming in the gates representing over eight states but it was time once again to return to the regular weekly racing program. The focus was now on the Tazewell Late Model class once again following the announcement that there would be a five-hundred dollar bounty that could be earned if someone could beat just one of Tazewell's big two; last years champion Travis Fultz and multi-time champ Jason Trammell. Just as in weeks before, the weather continued to be an issue to watch as high temperatures and the threat of a pop-up thundershower intended to spoil the night's program. The weather allowed the weekly program to progress on and by sundown the cars were on the track for their hot lap sessions.
Around 8:45 the Tazewell Late Models took to the track for qualifying and looking to make a statement was the "big-two" of Trammell and Fultz and the pair did just that with times of 11.965 and 12.058 seconds respectively with Trammell's lap securing the pole.
Fifteen Modified Street drivers tried for the pole next with four-in-a-row feature winner Gary Blanken grabbing fast time with a lap of 13.501 seconds.
Joe Keck was the fastest in Classics qualifying with a lap of 14.974 seconds.
The Pure Street Class took to the track next for hot laps with the Pure Street qualifying to follow after the prayer and National Anthem. Jason Long's lap of 14.821 seconds took the pole and his lap was the only one in the fourteen second range out of the twelve that qualified.

The Modified Street Feature race was next with Blanken looking for his fifth win in a row. On the start the cars were uneven coming across the line so they were restarted. Blanken took the lead with Warren McMahan behind him. Robbie Buchanon was all over McMahan and looking to get the spot if he slipped any at all. On lap eight the pace slowed down due to a caution flag that erased Blanken's advantage. The race was restarted and Blanken just kept rolling away as Jordon Horton, Clyde Overholt, Chris Collinsworth and Brad Davis fought for fourth, fifth and sixth. McMahan finished second and Horton was third. Blanken's finish was unofficial as his car was protested. After the protest was completed Blanken was indeed confirmed as the official winner, his fifth in a row. It was announced after the race that a bounty will be placed on Blanken. For more information on the specifications log on to

Modified Street Results
1 5 Gary Blanken
2 33 Warren McMahan
3 56H Jordan Horton
4 4 Clyde Overholt
5 77 Chris Collinsworth
6 88 Brad Davis
7 56 Tony Horton
8 17 Leonard Bray
9 54 Larry Burke
10 3 Tim Hatfield
11 P21 Robbie Buchanan
12 20 Scott Atkins
13 24 Kenneth Holt
14 22 Jason Sizemore
15 18 Rick Welch
16 9 David Smith
17 69 Nick Barnard
The Four Cylinder feature was led by Hayston Collett over Allen Holloway and Bubby Braden for several laps but it looked like their bumpers were tied together. Collett held off a hard charging Holloway for the win. Collett also made a point to dedicate the win to breast cancer survivors and he even had pink ribbons painted on his car to represent people he knew that were affected by cancer and were signed by fans who also knew people that were touched by the terrible disease. It was a special night for the young man who not only took home his first feature win but he also did a great job at bringing awareness to the plight of so many.

Four Cylinder Results
1 OO7 Hayston Collett
2 B7 Bubby Braden
3 A27 Allen Holloway
4 22 Ethan Hansard

Next was the Tazewell Late Model Feature and they were all gunning for the two that were on the first row, Trammell and Fultz. At the end of the first lap seven cars were left still in turn four causing a complete restart. Steve Carr was involved and left the track as well as the Earl Brimm machine. Jody Horton was involved also and could not return. On the restart Fultz looked to be fast enough to clear Trammell but the 90J was just strong enough to get to the lead before the end of the opening lap. They restarted after another yellow on lap three and Bryan Hendrix and Brian Smith were at it for third. By lap five Hendrix had the third place and set off after that extra five-hundred dollars. Hendrix pressured Fultz for second while Greg Estes and Brian Smith battled for fourth and fifth. A lap fifteen caution gave the field hope for getting around Trammell for the cash but it looked to be a Trammell kind of night until Hendrix blew below Fultz for second and made contact which sent Fultz into Trammell who had slowed when he went high in between turns one and two due to a flat right rear. By turn number three the big two were crashing with one climbing the wall and the other spinning sideways and stopping crossed-up in turn three. Fultz and Trammell took hard shots but both drivers were ok. Now the front looked different as Hendrix was at the point with Brian Smith and J. Allan third set to finish off the remaining laps and that was the unofficial finish pending protest. Fultz rebounded with a fourth place finish with Trammell finishing in the eighth spot. Andy Wilder finished fifth. This race had not been declared official as a protest of Hendrix was issued and he was later found to be illegal giving the win over to Brian Smith who had fought hard all race long after being involved in the earlier incident. Allan finished second and Fultz took home third place. Andy Wilder and Michael Rutherford rounded out the top fiive. With Fultz moved up to third after the protests were completed the bounty money was awarded to race winner, Brian Smith.

Tazewell Late Model Results
1 7 Brian Smith
2 111 J. Allan
3 T0 Travis Fultz
4 24 Andy Wilder
5 18 Michael Rutherford
6 24 Allen Holt
7 90J Jason Trammel
8 3 Steve Smith
9 31 Greg Estes
10 O7 Jimmy Calloway
11 75 Chris Long
12 33 Phillip Nichols
13 77 Steve Carr
14 56J Jody Horton
15 14 Earl Brim
16 9 Darrell Saylor
17 97 Keith Chapman
18 18 Anthony Burchett
DQ 5 Bryan Hendrix

The Classics were next and Joe Keck and Phillip Shockley led them to the green and the checkers. Before one lap was finished the Charlie Tharpe machine had spun thus creating a complete restart. At the front Keck was just ahead of Shockley with some space between them and Tharpe, Robbie Sands, Jim Yeary and Daris Breeden. By the race's end only four were running with Keck holding off Shockley, Sands and Yeary. .

Classic Car Results
1 8 Joe Keck
2 34 Phillip Shockley
3 17 Robbie Sands
4 7 Jim Yeary
5 1 Daris Breeden
6 59 Charlie Tharpe

The final race of the night belonged to the Pure Street Class where Jason Long led the field to the green. Steve Smith went by Long on lap seven and held on to take the checkers. Smith and Long were also protested and those engines were taken completely apart. After both were checked and deemed illegal by Tazewell Speedway officials the win was awarded to Jonathan Miracle with Daniel Carpenter finishing second and Dustin Eldridge taking third. Jason Whitaker and Tony Spoon rounded out the top five.

Pure Street Results
1 41 Jonathan Miracle
2 C5 Daniel Carpenter
3 94 Dustin Eldridge
4 26 Jason Whitaker
5 O7 Tony Spoon
6 28 Justin James
7 97 Aaron Guinn
8 77 John Stevens
9 12 J.J. Green
10 93 Dustin Farmer
DQ 15 Jason Long
DQ 2 Steve Smith

Tazewell Speedway would like to acknowledge its 2011 sponsors; Petty's Wrecker Service, Danny England Motors, Doyle Caylor Heat and Cooling, Tires Etc, Torbett Auto Supply, Boone's BP, Comunicomm, Royston, Enrichment Credit Union, Tazewell Motor Lodge, Tindell's Building Supplies, Honda/Yamaha of Knoxville, Harley of Knoxville, Citizens Bank, Lance Cunningham Ford, CJ Rayburn, Rusty Wallace Honda-Kia-Toyota, Gary Hall Motors, Knoxville TVA Credit Union, Coca-Cola, Pizza Inn and Tri State Tire. A special thanks goes out to the Claiborne Progress. Most importantly, thanks again to the fans for your continued support.