July 2, 2011 – Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., was the star of Saturday night’s action at Tazewell Speedway, setting fast time and winning a heat race during qualifying for the inaugural ‘Outlaw Sizzler 101.’

A $20,000 top prize will be up for grabs on Sunday evening (July 3) in the 101-lap World of Outlaws Late Model Series spectacular at the high-banked, one-third-mile oval, which Davenport blistered during Saturday’s qualifying program. His lap of 11.162 seconds in Ohlins Shock Time Trials was less than two-tenths of a second off the track record – earning him his first fast-time of 2011 and the fifth of his career on the national tour – and he dominated the first of three 15-lap heat races to position himself for a top-six starting spot in the ‘Sizzler.’

“We were good ever since we unloaded,” said the 27-year-old Davenport, who drove veteran chassis builder Barry Wright’s house car. “We got two hot-lap sessions and every time we went out we were quickest in our group. We tried a couple different things with our car and we really seemed to get rolling here.

“I think we know what we’re gonna do tomorrow. We already got a gameplan and we’re gonna stick to it.”

Davenport, who scored the lone WoO LMS triumph of his career last November in the World Finals opener at The Dirt Track at Charlotte, will redraw on Saturday for a top-six starting spot in the ‘Outlaw Sizzler 101’ – the richest race in the history of Tazewell Speedway.

Joining Davenport in the draw for positions will be Saturday’s other heat winners, Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., and Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., and prelim runners-up Shane Clanton of Fayetteville, Ga., who won last year’s 50-lap WoO LMS A-Main at Tazewell, Eric Jacobsen of Sea Cliff Beach, Calif., and Clint Smith of Senoia, Ga.

Smith authored one of the strongest runs of Saturday’s heat, charging forward from the sixth starting spot to chase Madden across the finish line. The WoO LMS regular known as ‘Cat Daddy’ ran the inside groove to pick off every car ahead of him except the machine driven by Madden, who turned back a late-race challenge from Smith.

“I was kinda set up to run the bottom and then I think I made a good tire choice on the left-rear,” said the 46-year-old Smith, who appeared ready to bid for the lead when a caution flag flew on lap 13 of the heat. “I went one step harder (on tire compound) than everybody else had on. After about three laps it got a lot of grip and we were able to power up by everybody.

“I think we had the heat race won, but the caution come out and let them cool their tires down and Madden beat me. But I knew the top two drew for the starting positions for the feature, so I knew second was just as good as winning.”

Two-time defending WoO LMS champion Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va., finished third in the first heat, giving him the seventh starting spot for the 101-lapper. Current tour points leader Rick Eckert of York, Pa., will start further back in 11th after placing fourth in the second heat.

The ‘Outlaw Sizzler 101’ concludes on Sunday evening (July 3) with a program headlined by a last-chance B-Main and the 101-lap feature. Tazewell’s Limited Late Model and Classic Car divisions will also be in action during the weekend’s grand finale, which is scheduled to kick off with hot laps at 8 p.m. and will include a holiday fireworks display.

More info on Tazewell Speedway is available by visiting www.tazewellspeedway.net.

For more information on the WoO LMS, visit www.worldofoutlaws.com.

Ohlins Shocks Time Trial Results (Position/No./Driver/Hometown/Best Lap):

1. 49-Jonathan Davenport/Blairsville, GA 11.162

2. 29-Darrell Lanigan/Union, KY 11.253

3. 19H-Austin Hubbard/Seaford, DE 11.259

4. 1-Josh Richards/Shinnston, WV 11.303

5. 5-Eric Jacobsen/Sea Cliff Beach, CA 11.335

6. 44M-Chris Madden/Gray Court, SC 11.367

7. 4T-Tommy Kerr/Maryville, TN 11.420

8. 28-Jeff Wolfenbarger/Clinton, TN 11.425

9. 39-Tim McCreadie/Watertown, NY 11.428

10. 25-Shane Clanton/Fayetteville, GA 11.439

11. 1H-Vic Hill/Morristown, TN 11.460

12. 4-Mark Vineyard/Powell, TN 11.465

13. 71d-Ron Davies/Warren, PA 11.467

14. 1*-Chub Frank/Bear Lake, PA 11.516

15. 14-Terry Wolfenbarger/Powell, TN 11.521

16. 22-Mike Weeks/Friendsville, TN 11.531

17. 24-Rick Eckert/York, PA 11.543

18. 44-Clint Smith/Senoia, GA 11.597

19. 86-Jeff Neubert/Rockford, TN 11.677

20. 0-Ross White/Knoxville, TN 11.726

21. 32c-Vic Coffey/Caledonia, NY 11.740

22. 19-Tim Fuller/Watertown, NY 11.749

23. 3-Steve Smith/Powell, TN 11.766

24. 90J-Jason Trammell/Knoxville, TN 11.784

25. 5H-Bryan Hendrix/Knoxville, TN 11.784

26. 1L-John Lobb/Frewsburg, NY 11.801

27. T0-Travis Fultz/Harrogate, TN 11.824

28. 11d-Pat Doar/New Richmond, WI 11.973

29. 201-Billy Ogle Jr./Knoxville, TN N/T

30. 10-Chad Ogle/Sevierville, TN 11.448 (DQ – light)

Heat No. 1 (10 laps – Top 6 Transfer): Davenport, Clanton, Richards, Davies, Kerr, Neubert, Fuller, Doar, Hendrix, Weeks

Heat No. 2 (10 laps – Top 6 Transfer): Lanigan, Jacobsen, Hill, Eckert, J. Wolfenbarger, Frank, S. Smith, Lobb, White (DNS) B. Ogle

Heat No. 3 (10 laps – Top 6 Transfer): Madden, C. Smith, Hubbard, McCreadie, Coffey, Vineyard, T. Wolfenbarger, Fultz, Trammell, C. Ogle

In Modified Street action Chris Collinsworth took the pole with a lap of 13.444 seconds. He had to battle Jordon Horton, Brad Davis, Greg Estes and Warren McMahan to get the win. Jordon Horton had the best shot of passing Collinsworth in the middle laps but drove in too hard just once and had to catch the back end of his Chevy letting Collinsworth get away. Second place went to Brad Davis with McMahan securing third and rounding out the top five were Horton and Leonard Bray respectively. It was technically Collinsworth's second win as he had a previous win when he benefitted from protest results. In victory lane he stated, "I want to thank everybody, everyone that helps me, everybody." He then took a moment and named his sponsors including, Petty Wrecker Service, Stone Realty, Dane Poore Excavating, Robbie's Auto Sales and others.

Modified Street Results
1 77 Chris Collinsworth
2 88 Brad Davis
3 33 Warren McMahan
4 56H Jordan Horton
5 17 Leonard Bray
6 P21 Robbie Buchanan
7 4 Clyde Overholt
8 3 Tim Hatfield
9 1 Greg Estes
10 20 Scott Adkins
11 56 Tony Horton
12 54 Larry Burke
13 69 Nick Barnard
14 22 Jason Sizemore
15 1 Scott Johnson DNS

Steve Smith took the win in the Pure Street division tonight and it looked as if there would be a protest but it was later dropped allowing the win to stand. Aaron Guinn had a great run and took second with Appaches Quinton third. The top five were rounded out by Jason Long and Dustin Eldridge.

Pure Street Results
1 2 Steve Smith
2 97 Aaron Guinn
3 15 Appaches Quinton
4 15 Jason Long
5 94 Dustin Eldrige
6 26 Jason Whitaker
7 28 Justin James
8 O7 Tony Spoon
9 41 Johnathan Miracle
10 C5 Daniel Carpenter
11 11 David Middleton

Racing action will continue Sunday night with the B-mains and Outlaw Sizzler 101. Also racing will be the classic cars and the Tazewell (limited) late models for $1,200 to win. There will also be a fireworks show. Action is set to begin at 7:45.