March 31, 2012 - Mother Nature would hold off this week. With blue skies welcoming drivers, crew members, and race fans. The season would open with the 3rd annual Charles Trammell Memorial 100. Trammell whose grandson, Jason, is a regular driver would pull double duty by running two classes. The race would feature the Tazewell Late model class, modified street, Crate late models, and Classics. All the drivers were looking to start the season off and get a hand on the big payout. After a long off season, the track surface looked to be ready for racing. After being worked in, drivers would then be ready for their hot laps, allowing them to shake off their nerves, make last minute adjustments, and make sure there machines are ready to go racing.

The first feature event on tap was the modified street. Qualifying displayed raw speed in the track as Jordan Horton set fast time with a lap of 13.217 seconds. Horton chose to start on the outside pole forcing Clyde Overholt, the second fast qualifier, to start on the inside of row one. On the start, Horton pulled to the early lead, but trouble struck the Petty Enterprises entry driven by Robbie Buchanan. The P21 machine tagged the wall in turns 1 and 2, causing the driveshaft to disassemble ending the team's night. The race restarted, with Horton taking the lead in turn one. Overholt worked on Horton's rear bumper through the entire race, and finally got a run off of turn two strong enough to take the lead into turn 3. The second and final caution flew two laps later when a crash occurred coming out of turn two. Tony Horton's #56 machine, running in 3rd at the time, spun coming out of turn two collecting Jason Sizemore and Scott Johnson. Horton and Johnson were unable to finish the event. On the restart, Overholt pulled away to win the 20 lap event.

Modified Street Results

1. 4 - Clyde Overholt
2. 56H - Jordan Horton
3. 5 - Gary Blanken
4. 44C - Jason Sizemore
5. 56 - Tony Horton
6. 1 - Scott Johnson
7. P21 - Robbie Buchanan
8. 20S - James Weaver

Last year's track champion, Travis Fultz, would look to win the 35 lap $2000 to win Tazewell late model feature. Steve Smith would jump to the lead from his inside front row spot. A 3 way battle for the runner up between Fultz, Trammell, and Horton would allow Smith to pull away. On lap 11 Smith would begin working through lap traffic. Lap 18 the field would come under caution for the 56 of Horton who would retire pit side. The field would bunch up down the backstretch as they would fire off again. Smith would again show the way with Fultz and Trammell in tow. Steve Smith would set the cruise control and go on to take the feature win. Fultz would hold off several attempts from Trammell to finish second with Trammell rounding out the top 3.

Tazewell Late Model Results

1. 3 - Steve Smith
2. T0 - Travis Fultz
3. 90J - Jason Trammell
4. 33 - Phillip Nichols
5. 97 - Keith Chapman
6. 31 - Greg Estes
7. 66 - Mark Leach
8. 7 - Heath Alvey
9. G7 - Billy Gordon
10. 24 - Andy Wilder
11. 75 - Chris Long
12. 56J - Jody Horton
Did Not Start Feature
5 - Brian Hendrix
11J - Jordan Horton
1 - Matt Melton

The third feature on tap for the evening featured a rare appearance of the crate late model class featuring a 25 lap feature paying a stellar $1,200 to the winner. Michael Smith of Rogersville, TN, dubbed as "The Pizza Man", shattered the crate late model track qualifying record with a blistering lap of 12.047 seconds. Smith cleared the 90J of Jason Trammell in turn one of the first lap in route to the big check. Trammell faded to the third spot on the second lap when Jason Welshan's 29 machine took over the runner up spot. However, he was no match for "The Pizza Man" as he delivered leading every lap of the caution free event in a dominating fashion.

Crate Late Model Results

1. 4 - Michael Smith
2. 29 - Jason Welshan
3. 90J - Jason Trammell
4. 51 - Mack McCarter
5. B00 - Josh Henry
6. 79C - Marty Calloway
Did Not Start Feature
47 - Brad Hall

Taking to the high banks to finish out the night would be the Classics. Robbie Sands and Phillip Shockley would pace the field to the start. Flagman Bruce Caylor would wave off the start and line them up again. Sands would set sail in his white 17 machine, until lap 11 when Shane Lockhart would spin and stop on the front stretch bringing out the caution flag. On the restart, it would once again be Sands who would take the point. On lap 18, Tim Sands Jr. would make hard contact with the wall between turns one and two before coming to rest near the inside fence. The restart would bring a green-white checker finish. Robbie Sands would go on to beat the field for the win of the 20 lap feature.

Classic Car Results

1. 17 - Robbie Sands
2. 34 - Phillip Shockley
3. 20 - Charlie Tharp
4. 59 - Matt Tharp
5. 8 - Joe "Hot Rod" Keck
6. 18 - Eli "Push Rod" Keck
7. 3 - Jason Beeler
8. 21 - Tim Sands Jr.
9. 1 - Shane Lockhart

Tazewell Speedway will hold an open practice to all competitors next Saturday, April 7th, from 1pm-6 pm. Tazewell Speedway will resume racing on April 14th with the season opener, featuring the first official points races for all regular divisions, plus $1 hotdogs for all attending fans.