May 19, 2012 - Tazewell Speedway returned to action on May 19, 2012 with another edition of weekly program racing featuring action in the Tazewell Late Models, Modified Street, Pure Street, Classics, and 4 Cylinders.

The first feature to take to the speedway of the night was the 4 Cylinders. Bubby Braden and Rufus Collett brought the field to the green flag on row one. Braden took the lead going into turn one, but shortly after lost the lead to Fields. By lap three, Kurt Owens had brought the famed 7UP machine from last to second, giving him twelve laps to charge up and catch Fields. It took Owens about five laps to run Fields down while McMahan and Joey Allen battled for 3rd. The race began to heat up between Owens and Fields when Kurt decided to make his move going into turn one on lap eleven. The two contenders made contact, causing Owens to lose a right rear wheel ending his night and bringing out the yellow. The caution set up a four lap dash to the finish, now with McMahan, who had successfully passed Allen, on Fields’ rear bumper. The finish came down to the wire in a side-by-side photo finish with Fields claiming his 1st win of the season in only his second race back in competition. McMahan would finish second, with Allen finishing 3rd in his return appearance.

Four Cylinder Results:
1. 11 - Josh Fields
2. 99 - Chuck McMahan
3. A00 - Joey Allen
4. B7 - Bubby Braden
5. 72 - Rufus Collett
6. 13 - John Collett
7. 7UP - Kurt Owens

The second feature of the night was the Modified Street, the bonus money class of the night. Gary Blanken set fast time in qualifying with a lap of 13.315 in his second appearance of the season. On the start, Blanken charged to the lead into turn one by Clyde Overholt, who competed in his father’s #14 machine after contact in hotlaps with the turn 4 wall ended his night in the #4 machine. A lap nine caution for Larry Burke’s broken right front suspension set up for the last eleven laps. No one proved to be a match for Blanken as he claimed his 1st victory of 2012.

Modified Street Results:
1. 5 - Gary Blanken
2. 14 - Clyde Overholt
3. 56 - Tony Horton
4. 56H - Jordan Horton
5. P21 - Robbie Buchanan
6. 54 - Larry Burke
7. 8 - Andrew Loven
8. 14 - Danny Helton

The Tazewell Late Models took to the track 3rd on the slate. Steve Smith rocketed to the pole with a lap of 11.660 seconds, threatening to break his own track record. On the start, Smith got a good jump and took the lead over Phillip Nichols, who qualified 2nd, going into turn one. Smith was able to drive away from Nichols as he had his hands full defending 2nd place from Greg Estes in the #31. A lap 26 caution slowed things as 4th place running Michael Rutherford had a great showing ruined by a broke left rear wheel coming out of turn four. The final caution the next lap for J. Allan set up for a three lap dash to the finish, showing the #3 machine prevailing as Smith held on for the win. After the conclusion of the event, Nichols, who prevailed in finishing 2nd over Estes, protested the 3 of Smith. Smith also returned the favor by protesting the 33 of Nichols as well. After tech inspection concluded, both drivers were deemed legal giving the win to Smith. Nichols finished 2nd, Estes 3rd, with Matt Tharp and Andy Wilder claiming top five finishes on the evening.

Tazewell Late Model Results:
1. 3 - Steve Smith
2. 33 - Phillip Nichols
3. 31 - Greg Estes
4. 35 - Matt Tharp
5. 24 - Andy Wilder
6. 22 - Matthew Holt
7. 111 - J. Allan
8. 18 - Michael Rutherford
9. 77 - Jimmy Calloway
10. 21 - Bryan Howerton
11. 2 - Donnie Cameron

90J - Jason Trammell
11 - Anthony Arnwine
56J - Jody Horton

Classics took to the high banks next. Phillip Shockley claimed the pole with a fast time of 14.478 seconds. On the start, Shockley pulled ahead of Charlie Tharp going into turn one. After several cautions slowed the event, as several attempts made by Tharp to pass the #34 machine, Shockley took the checkered driving his orange #34 to victory lane. Tharp finished second, with Daris Braden running third, Lockhart fourth, and Walton rounding out the top five.

Classic Car Results:
1. 34 - Phillip Shockley
2. 20 - Charlie Tharp
3. 8 - Daris Braden
4. 1 - Shane Lockhart
5. 59 - Shawn Walton
6. 3 - Jason Beeler
7. 18 - Eli Keck

The final feature of the night was the Pure Street division. Steve Smith claimed fast time with a lap of 14.519 seconds, but was unable to start the feature. Jason Long and J.J. Green shared row one for the start, with the first start being waved off. The second time around was more successful, with Long grabbing the lead. The race ran caution free, as Long claimed his first win of the season.

Pure Street Results:
1. 15 - Jason Long
2. 94 - Dustin Eldridge
3. 41 - Johnathan Miracle
4. 28 - Buster Cupp
5. B2 - Bo Smith
6. 12 - J.J. Green
7. 01 - Luke Sharp
8. C5 - Daniel Carpenter

Despite a great night of action and fun, Tazewell Speedway operated tonight with heavy hearts. Jim Yeary, the owner of the famed “War Pig” #7 Classic car machine, recently piloted by Classic driver and regular Joe “Hotrod” Keck, lost his battle with cancer Saturday morning at the age of 40. Gary and Shirlene Hall, Rick Brooks, and all of the staff of Tazewell Speedway would like to send their most sincere condolences to the Yeary family in this time. Our thoughts and prayers go out to all who knew and loved Mr. Yeary, and he will be very deeply missed by all of his racing family at the Tazewell Speedway.

Tazewell Speedway will return to action once again next Saturday night, May 26, with another edition of regular racing featuring “KIDS NIGHT AT THE RACES.” Activities for this event will include foot races for kids ages 6-9 in one group, and ages 10-13 in the other group. Foot race winners will receive a free bicycle and a trophy, with all participants receiving a free Tazewell Speedway t-shirt!!! And as if this isn’t enough, Mr. and Mrs. Hall are also bringing back $1 hotdog night, and a free fireworks display! This is certainly going to be a night of family fun no one will want to miss!!! Mr. and Mrs. Gary Hall would like to thank each and every fan for their continued support of Tazewell Speedway and hope each and every one joins us once again next week!