June 3, 2012 - After weather postponed the 2012 edition of the Toyota Knoxville 50, originally scheduled for Friday, June 1st, the event was completed on the reschedule date of Sunday, June 3rd. This year's edition of the annual event featured a 50 lap Super Late Model event paying $10,000 to the winner, along with a $1,200 to win Tazewell Late Model event, Modified Street, and Classic action.

The action started off quickly as LOLMDS entrants came to staging to qualify for the event. Before qualifying, Steve Smith held the track qualifying record with a lap of 10.838 seconds. However, Scott Bloomquist, who came out as the 6th car to qualify, turned an amazing lap of 10.822 seconds, setting the new track record for Super Late Model division qualifying. He continued where he left off in qualifying by proceeding with a dominating win in heat race 1. Heat 2 saw Don O'Neal take the win, while John Blankenship took the win in heat 3.

After heat race action, feature racing began with the LOLMDS after a brief intermission. Bloomquist took the lead on the start from O'Neal into turn 1 and proceeded to pull away from the pack. O'Neal settled into second while Blankenship and Ogle Jr. battled for 3rd, with Ogle Jr. prevailing. As Bloomquist approached lapped traffic, O'Neal began to track him down, but a lap 28 caution slowed the event for the first time with a tangle between Jared Landers and Bryan Hendrix. The race restarted, but was slowed 4 laps later as Tyler Reddick slowed and collected Landers in his second incident of the night. The remaining 17 laps ran caution free, with Bloomquist pulling away and winning in a dominating fashion. O'Neal brought the 71 machine home in 2nd, with Ogle Jr. 3rd, Blankenship 4th, and Earl Pearson Jr. rounding out the top 5.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Toyota of Knoxville 50 Results:
1. 0 - Scott Bloomquist
2. 71 - Don O'Neal
3. 201 - Billy Ogle Jr.
4. 23 - John Blankenship
5. 44 - Earl Pearson Jr.
6. 15 - Jonathan Davenport
7. 20 - Jimmy Owens
8. 15 - Steve Francis
9. 1 - Vic Hill
10. 18 - Eric Wells
11. 41 - Brad Neat
12. 5 - Jared Landers
13. 28 - Jeff Wolfenbarger
14. 5 - Bryan Hendrix
15. 11 - Tyler Reddick
16. 53 - Ray Cook
17. 28 - Dennis Erb Jr.
18. 3 - Steve Smith
19. 22 - Mike Weeks
20. 90J - Jason trammel
21. 25 - Rick Rogers
22. 11 - Austin Hubbard

After the post-race celebrations ended for the Bloomquist crew, the Tazewell Late Models took to the high banks. Steve Smith set fast time in qualifying with a lap of 11.679 seconds, with Travis Fultz hot on his heel sat 11.694 seconds. On the start, Smith grabbed the lead going in to one, with Fultz settling into second. Several cautions slowed the event in the beginning, before finally getting going for a green flag run. On lap 12, Jason trammel began his charge to the front as he passed Jody Horton for the 3rd spot. Greg Estes battled his way by Horton 7 laps later, while Phillip Nichols, Brad Lowe, and Pierce McCarter shook things up in a heated battle just outside the top 5. It appeared Smith had things wrapped up, when coming out of turn 4 to take the white flag, he slowed with apparent overheating issues, giving the lead to Fultz for the last lap. Fultz held off Trammell to claim his first victory of 2012.

Tazewell Late Models Results:
1. T0 - Travis Fultz
2. 90J - Jason Trammell
3. 31 - Greg Estes
4. 56J - Jody Horton
5. 1 - Brad Lowe
6. 33 - Phillip Nichols
7. 01 - Travis Armes
8. 3 - Steve Smith
9. 71 - Pierce McCarter
10. 11 - Anthony Arnwine
11. 05 - Gary Blanken
12. 11J - Tony Horton
13. 42 - Wes Tilley
14. 21 - Bryan Howerton
15. 63 - Josh Collins
16. 122 - Mike Weeks
17. 11 - Matt Tharp

The Modified Street came to the speedway next for their 20 lap feature. Jason Sizemore set the pace in qualifying with a lap of 13.354 seconds. On the start, Sizemore and Clyde Overholt went into turn 1 side-by-side, with Overholt claiming the lead from the inside line. Robbie Buchanan took over 2nd and Sizemore settled into 3rd. Several single car spins slowed the event, and then the big struck on lap 12. Sizemore, running 3rd, put water down going into turn 3, collecting Tony Horton, Jason Long, and Brandon Jarnigan. The crash ended Sizemore's and Jarnigan's nights. On the restart, Overholt began to set sail, and 2 laps later, Warren McMahan took over the second spot from Buchanan. However, he was unable to run down Overholt who took the win.

Modified Street Results:
1. 4 - Clyde Overholt
2. 33 - Warren McMahan
3. P21 - Robbie Buchanan
4. 54 - Larry Burke
5. 56H - Jordan Horton
6. 56 - Tony Horton
7. 15 - Jason Long
8. 44C - Jason Sizemore
9. 86 - Brandon Jarnigan
10. 14 - Wayne Overholt
5 - Gary Blanken
14 - Austin Atkins

The Classic division ended the night's action with a 20 lap feature. Joe Keck set fast time with a lap of 14.440 seconds. Keck took the lead on the initial start which was waved off as 2nd place starter Charlie Tharp spun coming out of turn 4. This forced a restart, which was also unsuccessful as contact between Keck and Tharp brought the yellow out once again before a lap was complete. Tharp was forced to the back of the field due to pitting for a flat tire. On the start, Keck and Robbie Sands battled hard for the lead, with Sands eventually prevailing. Sands continued on to win the event, with Keck finishing second, Tharp third, and Shane Lockhart and Jason Beeler bringing home impressive top 5 finishes.

Classic Car Results:
1. 17 - Robbie Sands
2. 8 - Joe Keck
3. 20 - Charlie Tharp
4. 1 - Shane Lockhart
5. 3 - Jason Beeler
6. 21 - Tim Sands Jr.
7. 18 - Eli Keck

Gary and Shirlene Hall want to thank each and every fan and driver for coming out and making the 2012 edition of the Toyota Knoxville 50 event a huge success, and for your continued support of Tazewell Speedway. Mr. and Mrs. Hall want to personally invite each and every fan to return with us next Saturday night, June 9th, as we return to our regular 5 division racing, featuring the Tazewell Late Models, Modified Street, Pure Street, Classics, and 4 Cylinders. Admission prices for the grandstands will be $10, with pit admission being $25.