April 6, 2013 - The Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series visited Tazewell Speedway for the first time since 2006 on Saturday evening and Chris Madden of Gray Court, SC would lead all 50 laps of the 4th Annual Charles Trammell Memorial en route to a $5,000 payday at the Gary Hall promoted East Tennessee speedplant.

Madden and Bryan Hendrix would bring the field to the green flag, only to see Hendrix slam the outside retaining wall in turn one to cause the first of seven caution periods that slowed the event. A tangle between Steve Smith and Jason Trammell would slow the pace again after only 1 lap had been scored. Back underway, Madden would show the way, while Tommy Kerr and Billy Ogle, Jr. battling for second, with Vic Hill fourth. The front four would begin the process of working slower traffic and Madden would actually open a bit of a lead over Ogle, Jr., but a caution for an incident with Bo Shirley on the back chute slowed the pace.

This restart would see teammates Ogle, Jr. and Kerr trade slidejobs for the runner-up spot with Madden able to scoot away, with Mike Weeks and Stacey Boles now battling for fifth behind fourth place Hill. Two more cautions as a Josh Henry flat slowed the contest and after Jason Hiett rolled to a stop in turn four on lap 31, fourth place Hill would see mechanical issues end his evening as he rolled pitside during the caution period. Ogle, Jr. would challenge Madden repeatedly on restart and would roll under Madden on several occasions, but Madden would continue to lead the way. Meanwhile, fifteenth starter Hunter Peacock would roll his way into the top five by the lap 37 for a slowed Steve Smith on the front chute.

This restart would see Ogle, Jr. pressure Madden again for the race lead, but Madden would drive off to a four car length advantage by the time the final caution flew on lap 43 when third place running Kerr would limp his mount to a stop in turn two. The final laps would go caution-free and Madden would see the checkered flag first as the 37 year old would pilot his Hamrick's of Gaffney/Henderson Amusements/Century Plastics sponsored #44 Bloomquist Race Car powered by a Clements Race Engine to the victory. This was Madden's 40th career Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series victory, moving him to a tie for second on the all-time winners list with Dale McDowell. Madden also became the fourth different winner in just five events on the tour's schedule.

Ogle, Jr. would finish second, with Boles coming home in third, while Peacock and Weeks completing the top five. The remainder of the top ten would be seventeenth starting Riley Hickman, Mark Vineyard, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Josh Collins, and Mark Rosner. In preliminary action, Madden would be the Time Trials overall top qualifier at 10.944 seconds, while PPM Racing Products Last Chance Showdowns went to Steve Smith and Jason Trammell.

Southern All Stars Charles Trammell Memorial

1. Chris Madden
2. Billy Ogle Jr
3. Stacy Boles
4. Hunter Peacock
5. Mike Weeks
6. Riley Hickman
7. Mark Vineyard
8. Jeff Wolfenbarger
9. Josh Collins
10. Mark Rosner
11. Tommy Kerr
12. Steve Smith
13. Bret Holmes
14. Vic Hill
15. Jason Hiett
16. Josh Henry
17. Bo Shirley
18. Kayne Hickman
19. Michael Chilton
20. Bryan Hendrix
21. Jason Trammell

Also sharing Saturday night's spotlight was the Sportsman Division with second generation driver Ryan Carey of Maynardville, TN earning quick time honors with a lap of 12.930 seconds. Carey would share the front row of the feature with Justin Beeler. On the opening lap Beeler would spin in turn two and retire with front end damage. This would move last week's winner Keith Chapman up into the front row alongside Carey. As the field charged down the front stretch on the restart Mike Kelley made contact with another car that sent Kelley's car up into the catch fence entering turn one and landing on its top. After a few tense moments Kelley emerged from the crash unharmed. After the wild attempts for a double file start track officials decided to line the field in single file. Before the field could complete the first lap Chapman slowed on the track and brought out the caution. This moved Aaron Guinn up into second yet he would give up that spot on lap two as he sailed high in turn four allowing Matt Shockley to slip by. Shockley would bring out the caution on the next lap as he spun on his own in turn two. By lap four Chapman had worked his way up from the rear and would take second place away from Ryan Coppock. Caution once again fell on lap nine as Coppock spun collecting Shockley and 2 other cars. Ryan Carey in the Carey's Customs sponsored TNT Race Car would hold on to collect his first win. As he celebrated in Victory Lane with his father Ritchie, a former Late Model regular at Tazewell Speedway, an emotional Carey thanked his family and shared his Christian testimony with the fans
Sportsman Results
1. Ryan Carey
2. Keith Chapman
3. Aaron Guinn
4. Ryan Coppock
5. Matt Shockley
6. Thomas Raines
7. Justin Beeler
8. Mike Kelley

In Modified Street action Morristown's Gary Blanken would take the lead away from Brad Davis on lap six to notch his first win of the season in the Britts Welding, Morristown Towing & Automotive, Sonny's Collision Monte Carlo.

Modified Street Results
1. Gary Blanken
2. Brad Davis
3. Tony Horton
4. Clyde Overholt
5. Larry Burke
6. Robbie Buchanan
7. Michael Boyd
8. Dakotah Knuckles
9. Jerry Hux

Two time Tazewell Speedway 4 Cylinder Champion Chuck McMahan of Newport turned the fastest lap in qualifying but after the invert draw started on the inside of the second row behind Hayston Collett of Coldiron, KY. Collett took the early lead until a hard charging McMahan would take over the point on lap three to score his first win of the 2013 in the Lowes Auto Parts, West Haven Speed Equipment, Jim Ford Auto sponsored Ford Mustang.

4 Cylinder Results
1. Chuck McMahan
2. Chad Manning
3. Hayston Collett
4. Mark Wallace
5. Bubby Braden
6. Rufus Collett
7. James Collett Jr.
8. Jason Carter
9. Jeromy Collins

Last week's Pure Street winner Steve Smith of Barbourville, KY earned the pole in the feature alongside fellow Kentucky driver Jason Saylor. After jumping the start a couple of times Smith was relegated back to the second row. Saylor would take the early lead followed by Daniel Carpenter, Jason Long, Smith and Jonathan Miracle. Smith worked his way up from the fourth spot and started challenging Saylor for the lead midway through the feature. The duo put a show on for the fans as they battled door to door for several laps. Smith took over the lead in the final laps to notch his second win a row in the Steve's Body Shop, Gordon Construction, Bob's Roofing sponsored Camaro SS.

Pure Street Results

1. Steve Smith
2. Jason Saylor
3. Daniel Carpenter
4. Jason Long
5. J.J. Green
6. Tim Stevens
7. Eric Webber
8. Travis Crosby
9. Justin James
10. Jonathan Miracle
11. Toby Turner

Tazewell Speedway will return to our regular racing program on Saturday night April 13th. Tazewell Late Models, Sportsman, Modified Street, Pure Street, 4 Cylinder and Classic Cars will be in action.