April 13, 2013 - Another weekend of mild weather in east Tennessee brought out fans and a stout field of cars Saturday night at Tazewell Speedway.

Modified Street would be first to race in their twenty lap feature. Morristown's Gary Blanken would take fast time honors and with the invert draw lined up on the outside of the front row alongside second generation driver Clyde Overholt. At the drop of the green Blanken would charge into the lead trailed by Overholt, Warren McMahan, Larry Burke and David Clark. By the second lap McMahan would start pressuring Overholt for second. McMahan and Overholt raced door to door several times in the early going with McMahan slipping by on lap eight. By that time Blanken had built a comfortable lead and pick up his second win in a row in the Britt's Welding, Morristown Towing and Automotive, Sonny's Collision Monte Carlo.

Modified Street
1. Gary Blanken
2. Warren McMahan
3. Clyde Overholt
4. Robbie Buchanan
5. Larry Burke
6. David Clark
7. Brad Davis
8. Tony Horton
DNS Michael Boyd

In 4 Cylinder action Travis Dawson and former Champion Bubby Braden would share the front row by virtue of blind draw. Braden would lead the field into turn one yet Joey Allen, who started sixth, would challenge Braden for the lead on the back stretch and take over the top spot to lead lap one. On lap four Dawson would move into second. Last week's winner Chuck McMahan, who started eleventh, moved his way into fourth by lap six and start setting his sights for the lead. Dawson brought out the caution on lap nine with a spin putting Braden back into second and McMahan third. On the restart McMahan shoved his way into second but it was not enough to catch Allen who picked up his second win of the year in the Allen's Railroad Contracting, Norton's Body Shop, New Vision Graphics Ford Mustang.

4 Cylinder
1. Joey Allen
2. Chuck McMahan
3. Bubby Braden
4. Hayston Collett
5. Mark Wallace
6. Travis Dawson
7. Jeromy Collins
8. Wayne Hobson
9. Rufus Collett
10. Chris Reichert
11. John Collett

The most exciting race of the night came courtesy of the Tazewell Late Models. Greg Estes of Jonesville, VA was fast qualifier with a lap of 12.079 seconds but after the invert draw would start third behind Jason Trammell who shared the front row with Steve Smith. The first lap saw a four way battle for the lead as Estes and Smith using the outside lane to start pressuring Trammell who was busy fighting off Josh Henry of Newport. Trammell would lead the first three circuits but couldn't hold off Estes who took over the point on lap four. The next lap Henry took second away from Trammell and used the bottom groove to start chasing down Estes. On lap seven Henry dove low coming out of turn two and drifted up into the left side of Estes sending both cars spinning down the back stretch. Estes limped pitside with a flat right rear and retire for the evening. Henry would be relegated to the tail end of the field. On the restart Trammell pulled out a comfortable lead on Steve Smith but on lap thirteen Smith's night came to an end with engine woes. Henry moved his way back up through the field and took third away from Anthony Arnwine on lap sixteen and on lap twenty-five would take over second from Jody Horton. As the white flagged waved Henry had second place wrapped up until rear suspension problems caused him to pull pitside. Jason Trammell, the 2012 Tazewell Late Model Champion, would take his first win of the season in the Fast Lane Signs and Graphics, Trammell Construction, Hatmaker Holdings, A-1 Storage Trailers, Sun Electric Company sponsored Bloomquist Race Car.

Tazewell Late Models
1. Jason Trammell
2. Jody Horton
3. Anthony Arnwine
4. Brent Hensley
5. B.J. Morris
6. Matthew Holt
7. Josh Henry
8. Brian Shockley
9. Steve Smith
10. Billy Gordon
11. Greg Estes
DNS Brian Howerton
DNS Andy Wilder

The Sportsman Division continued the action in their twenty lap feature. Keith Chapman shared the front row with last week's winner Ryan Carey. Chapman took the early lead with Carey defending the second spot from Justin Beeler. On lap three Brad Pressley, debuting a new late model, would spin in turn two bringing out the caution. On the restart Josh Chesney would take second away from Beeler. Pressley brought out another caution on lap six as he spun and collected Chesney in the crash with Chesney suffering front body damage yet able to continue. With Chapman pulling away with the lead Carey and Ryan Coppock battled for the second spot. On lap twelve the duo made contact coming out of turn four sending Carey up on two wheels riding the outside retaining wall directly under the flag stand ending Carey's night. Up front it was Keith Chapman taking his second win of the year in the A-1 Storage Trailers, JRT Promotions, Sun Electric Company, Trammell Construction, Fast Lane Signs and Graphics Warrior Race Car.

1. Keith Chapman
2. Justin Beeler
3. Ryan Coppock
4. Derrick Shockley
5. Darrell Saylor
6. Larry Moore
7. Ryan Carey
8. Josh Chesney
9. Brad Pressley

Steve Smith of Barbourville, Ky qualified on the pole of the Pure Street feature and was the best of the field picking up his third win in a row in the Steve's Body Shop, Gordon Construction, Bob's Roofing Camaro. In Victory Lane he decicated the win to Buster Cupp, a former Pure Street competitor and Tazewell Speedway employee who passed away last December.

Pure Street
1. Steve Smith
2. Daniel Carpenter
3. Jason Saylor
4. Jonathan Miracle
5. J.J. Green
6. Justin James
7. Eric Webber
8. Johnny Simpson
9. Toby Turner
DNS Tim Stevens

Maynardville's Josh Chesney has competed in almost every division at Tazewell Speedway in the past few years without a visit to Victory lane. After a disappointing finish in the Sportsman feature he would turn things around in the Classic Car feature. Starting on the pole he would hold off a hard charging Charlie Tharp to notch his first Tazewell Speedway win in the Fat Boyz Racing, Eddie's Auto Parts, Hot Rod's Paint and Body, Inskip Body Shop Ford Sedan.

1. Josh Chesney
2. Eli Keck
3. Shane Lockhart
4. Daris Braden
5. Joel Wolfenbarger
6. Charlie Tharp
7. John Stevens
8. Jason Beele