May 21, 2013 - With pesky rains postponing racing on May 18, Tazewell Speedway owner Gary Hall made the decision to switch gears and race on Tuesday night, May 21. Just as the pit area was getting full with drivers from all over the region Mother Nature looked as if she would once again spoil the plans. After a brief shower the fans who waited out the rain were treated to one of the best nights of racing so far this season.
Modified Streets were up first with fast qualifier Gary Blanken lining up alongside Brad Davis on the front row of the twenty lap feature. As the field took the green flag Davis jumped out to the top spot followed by Blanken, Robbie Buchanan, and Warren McMahan. McMahan would drop out of contention on lap three with a flat right front tire. Davis would extend his lead and capture his first win of the season in the Old Town Grill, Jeffers Exterminating, A-1 Tint and Detail, Andrews Construction, Just Bounce, Country Gun &Pawn, Phantom Race Engines powered Renegade Race car. After the feature the top three finishers were inspected by track officials. Gary Blanken was disqualified with improper shocks on his car. Davis and Buchanan were deemed legal.

Modified Street
1. 88 Brad Davis
2. P21 Robbie Buchanan
3. 56 Tony Horton
4. 33 Warren McMahan
5. 52 Michael Boyd
6. 56H Jordon Horton
7. 4 Clyde Overholt
DNS 21K Dakotah Knuckles
Disqualified 5 Gary Blanken

In Sportsman action Justin Beeler, who scored his first ever win earlier in the season, posted the quickest time among eleven entries with a lap of 12.637 seconds. With the invert draw Beeler would share the front row of the feature with Morristown's Rex Coffey, a second generation driver with many years of experience on the high banks of the Bad Fast Taz. Coffey would take the early lead with Beeler, Jerry Hux, Heath Alvey and Mike Clonce giving chase. On lap four Alvey would slip by Beeler to take over the second spot. The caution flag would fly on lap eight as Beeler and Alvey made contact sending both cars into a spin. The yellow would fly again as Ryan Coppock and Dustin Hoover spun in turn four. Up front it was Rex Coffey scoring his first Sportsman victory in the Coffee Boyz Racing, Rex Effects, Warren Stinson DDS sponsored Warrior Race Car.

1. 3 Rex Coffey
2. 01 Jerry Hux
3. 7 Heath Alvey
4. 8 Mike Clonce
5. 25 Justin Beeler
6. XXX Josh Chesney
7. 71W Wendell Williams
8. 46 Derrick Shockley
9. 73 Richard Atkins
10. 88 Billy Gordon
11. 2C Ryan Coppock
12. 97 Keith Chapman

Last year's Tazewell Late Model champion Jason Trammell was fast qualifier among twelve entries with a lap of 11.624 seconds and only .007 seconds separating him from Greg Estes who posted a lap of 11.631 seconds. Trammell and Estes would bring the field to the green in the thirty lap feature. As the field stormed into turn one Estes would slide up into the outside wall ending his night.

As Trammell pulled way with a comfortable lead the best battle of the night waged behind him with Anthony Arnwine and Steve Smith duking it out for second. Arnwine, son of Tazewell Speedway Hall of Fame member Jim Arnwine, having many years of experience in the late model ranks was still looking for that first taste of victory. He would use every bit of that experience to try and hold off Steve Smith, one of East Tennessee greatest wheelmen. When not staying glued to Arnwine's back bumper Smith would dive low in the turns trying to find an advantage. The duo made contact several times throughout the feature with both drivers giving and taking yet showing each other respect.

The caution flag would fly on lap eighteen setting up a green/white/checkered finish. On the restart Smith was able to dive down low and take the second spot away from Arnwine. But it wasn't enough to catch Trammell who notched his second win of the season in the Fastlane Signs & Graphics, Trammell Construction, Hatmaker Holdings, Vic Hill Racing Engine powered Bloomquist Race car.

Tazewell Late Models
1. 90J Jason Trammell
2. 3 Steve Smith
3. 11 Anthony Arnwine
4. B00 Josh Henry
5. 56J Jody Horton
6. 45 B.J. Morris
7. 22 Mathhew Holt
8. 17 Brian Shockley
9. 15 Jordan Horton
10. G71 Dustin Hoover
11. 24 Andy Wilder
12. 31 Greg Estes

Driving the heaviest and least aerodynamic vehicle at Tazewell Speedway, Jonathan Miracle would use his experience and an expertly prepared truck to dominate the Pure Street feature in the Dennis Whitaker owned Dodge Ram pickup.

Pure Street
1. 26 Jonathan Miracle
2. 12 J.J. Green
3. 11 Tim Stevens
4. 92T Travis Crosby
5. 5 Jason Saylor
6. 97 Aaron Guinn
7. 25 Eric Webber
8. 28 Justin James
9. 15 Jason Long

In 4 Cylinder action Knoxville's Michael Courtney made his first appearance of the season and was fast qualifier with a lap of 14.524 seconds. With the invert draw Chad Manning and Chuck McMahan would make up the front row of the feature. McMahan would take the early lead with Courtney taking over the second spot on the following lap. By lap four Courtney would start laying the pressure to McMahan for the lead. The yellow flag would come out on lap four for Brandon Johnson and Bobby Reichert. On the restart Courtney would jump the start and be relegated to the tail end of the lead lap. McMahan would lead the rest of the way to pick up his fourth win in a row in the Round Boy Racing, Lowes Auto Parts, Jim Ford Auto, West Haven Speed Equipment sponsored Ford Mustang.

4 Cylinder
1. 99 Chuck McMahan
2. 14 Chad Manning
3. 111 Randy Dykes
4. 19 Travis Dawson
5. 1 Mark Wallace
6. 72 Rufus Collett
7. 1 Jason Turner
8. 40 Chris Evans
9. C11 Michael Courtney
10. 22 Mark Dalton
11. 01 Brandon Johnson
12. 21 Bobby Reichert
DNS 38 James Collett Jr

In the Classic Car feature Josh Chesney and Kurt Owens, subbing for Daris Breeding, would bring the field to the green. Chesney took the early lead Owens taking the lead away on lap five. Owens dropped out with problems on lap seventeen giving Matt Tharp his first win of the season on the Carway Auto Sales Ford Coupe.

1. 20 Matt Tharp
2. 18 Eli Keck
3. 1 Shane Lockhart
4. 3 Jason Beeler
5. 44 Kurt Owens
6. 8 Josh Chesney
7. 7 John Stevens
8. 13J Joel Wolfenbarger