June 8, 2013 - After taking a long breath after last Friday's visit from the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series it was back to business for the hard working staff at Tazewell Speedway. On showcase Saturday night was the Pure Street division as they battled in dual features in the Pure Street Clash in honor of Buster Cupp, a former Pure Street competitor and Tazewell Speedway employee.

Barbourville, KY native Steve Smith turned the fastest lap in qualifying and jump out to an early lead in the first feature over Jason Saylor, Jason Long and Aaron Guinn. Just as Smith was extending his lead on the field a terrifying crash on the back stretch brought out the red flag. Contact between Justin James and Appaches Quinton sent both cars fipping with Quinton's car ending up atop the inside retaining wall. Both drivers walked away yet James was transported to a local hospital for further evaluation. After the track was cleared Smith would hold off the field to win the first feature in the Shane's Body Shop, Gordon Consruction, Bob's Roofing sponsored Camaro. Smith developed engine problems in the waning laps of the first feature and would not be able to start the second feature.

Pure Street Feature #1
1. 2 Steve Smith
2. 5 Jason Saylor
3. 97 Aaron Guinn
4. 15 Jason Long
5. C5 Daniel Carpenter
6. 26 Jonathan Miracle
7. 1 Josh Chesney
8. 92T Travis Crosby
9. 11 Tim Stevens
10. 97 Bo Hall
11. 28 Justin James
12. 1 Appaches Quinton

With the inversion Daniel Carpenter, last Friday's winner, would start alongside Jason Long on the front row in the second Pure Street feature. Long would use the use the outside starting spot to his advantage to lead every lap and score his third win of the season in the Cuz Customs, Morristown Towing & Automotive, Matlock Decals Monte Carlo.

Pure Street Feature #2
1. 15 Jason Long
2. 97 Aaron Guinn
3. 26 Jonathan Miracle
4. C5 Daniel Carpenter
5. 5 Jason Saylor
6. 11 Tim Stevens
7. 92T Travis Crosby
DNS 2 Steve Smith
DNS 1 Josh Chesney
DNS 97 Bo Hall
DNS 28 Justin James
DNS 1 Appaches Quinton

In Modified Street action Brad Davis posted the best qualifying time among eleven entries. Gary Blanken would start on the pole position after the invert draw with Davis on the outside of the front row. Davis took the early lead followed by Blanken, Tony Horton, Robbie Buchanan and Clyde Overholt. On the second lap Blanken would spin in turn one and collect Jesse Helton, Horton and Buchanan. Helton would be the only not not able to continue. By halfway Davis would extend his lead to a full straight over the rest of the field. Davis would go unchallenged for his second win of the season in the Old Town Grill, Jeffers Exterminating, A-1 Tint and Detail, Andrews Construction, Just Bounce, Country Gun &Pawn, Phantom Race Engines powered Renegade Race car.

Modified Street
1. 88 Brad Davis
2. 56 Tony Horton
3. 4 Clyde Overholt
4. P21 Robbie Buchanan
5. 5 Gary Blanken
6. 54 Mitchell Burke
7. 33 Warren McMahan
8. 28 Jesse Helton
9. 52 Michael Boyd
10. 21K Dakotah Knuckles

Since it inception this season five different drivers have been victorius in the Sportsman Division. Keith Chapman would garner fast time among ten entries with a lap of 12,997 seconds. With the invert draw Chapman would start on the inside of the second row witt Health Alvey and Jordon Horton sharing the front row. Horton, the 2012 Modified Street champion, would take the early lead with Alvey, Chapman, and Jerry Hux in tow. Alvey would start pressuring Horton for the lead on lap eight. Horton would hold off the challenge and score his first Sportsman win in only his third time in the car. Horton's GRT Race Car is sponsored by Hardees, River Place on The Clinch, Greasy Rock Auto Shop, Cosmetic Alternatives, Gibson Tax Services and Bobby's Used Honda.

1. 56H Jordon Horton
2. 7 Heath Alvey
3. 97 Keith Chapman
4. 01 Jerry Hux
5. 8 Mike Clonce
6. 88 Billy Gordon
7. 8 Larry Moore
8. 46 Derrick Shockley
9. D00 Josh Driskill

One of the stoutest field of Tazewell Late Models all season were on hand. jason Trammell would record fastest time among seventeen entries. Newport's Josh Henry would earn the pole position after the invert draw and share the front row with Greg Estes of Jonesville, VA. As Estes took the lead Henry had his hands full trying to hold off Steve Smith for the second spot. Smith would eventually take second away from Henry on the third lap. After checking out on the field and weaving his way through lap traffic Estes would notch his second win of the season in the Estes Brothers Construction, Powell Valley National Bank, South-West Insurance, Boones BP, American Race Tire shod Warrior Race Car powered by a Vic Hill Race Engine.

Tazewell Late Models
1. 31 Greg Estes
2. 3 Steve Smith
3. 90J Jason Trammell
4. T0 Travis Fultz
5. B00 Josh Henry
6. 66 Mark Leach
7. 18 Michael Rutherford
8. 11 Anthony Arnwine
9. 22 Matthew Holt
10. 45 B.J. Morris
11. 565J Jody Horton
12. 17 Brian Shockley
13. 111 J. Allen
14. 70 Brent Hensley
15. 34 Phillip Shockley
16. G71 Dustin Hoover
17. 24 Andy Wilder
DNS 21 Brian Howerton

In 4 Cylinder action Chuck McMahan was looking to extend his winning streak to six in a row. The field would be set by blind draw. Jeromy Collins and Hayston Collett would share the front row with McMahan starting eighth. Collins would take the early lead followed Collett, and Bubby Braden. By lap seven McMahan had moved into second and start setting his sights Collins. On lap eleven the duo raced side by side. In the remaining laps McMahan tried several times to duck down and take the lead away yet Collins was able him off and break the winning streak to record his first victory. In Victory Lane an emotional Collins celebrated with his crew in the Morristown Towing & Automotive, Collins Electric sponsored Ford Mustang.

4 Cylinder
1. 44J Jeromy Collins
2. 99 Chuck McMahan
3. B7 Bubby Braden
4. 007 Hayston Collett
5. 111 Randy Dyke
6. 72 Rufus Collett
7. 40 Chris Evans
8. 19 Travis Dawson
9. 14 Chad Manning
DNS 38 James Collett Jr.
DNS Joey Allen

In the Classic Car feature Josh Chesney held off Shane Lockhart for his fourth win of the season in the Fat Boyz Racing, Maynardville Muffler Center, Hot Rods Paint & Body, Eddies Auto Parts, Crossroads Motors, Inskip Body Shop Ford Sedan.

Classic Car
1. 8 Josh Chesney
2. 1 Shane Lockhart
3. 18 Eli Keck
4. 68 Shannon Reece
5. 3 Jason Beeler
6. 13 Joel Wolfenbarger
7. 7 John Stevens
8. 74 Justin Overton

Join us this Saturday night June 15 for another night of racing at Tazewell Speedway with our full racing program. We will also have a candy toss for the youngsters nine and under. For more information please visit or call us at 423.626.2222. Also check us out on Facebook and Twitter.