July 20, 2013 - In the course of his racing career spanning over 20 years Warren McMahan of Dandridge has racked up dozens of victories all over the east Tennessee region, on dirt as well as asphalt. Saturday night he racked up two more wins and wowed the crowd in doing so in the Modified Madness. Tony Horton of Sneedville would set fast time in qualifying and start on the pole of the first fourteen lap feature alongside Brad Davis. Horton would lead the field into the first turn yet Davis would take the lead away going down the back stretch. By the second circuit Davis pulled out to a six car length advantage over Horton who had his hands full holding off Gary Blanken. On lap four Blanken and Horton would make contact battling for position sending Blanken into the outside wall between turns three and four. Horton would continue with Blanken retiring from the first feature. On the restart McMahan , who started fifth, would start pressuring Horton for the second spot. On the ensuing lap McMahan slipped by Horton and set his sights on Davis. McMahan used the low groove to race side by side with Davis for the lead. The caution would fly again on lap eleven as Horton slowed with a flat tire. On the restart McMahan once again jumped to the low side of Davis. The duo would race door to door in the closing laps and with the checkered flag in sight McMahan dove low in turn four passing Davis for the win.

Modified Street Feature #1

1. 33 Warren McMahan
2. 88 Brad Davis
3. P21 Robbie Buchanan
4. 1 David Clark
5. 54 Larry Burke
6. 4 Clyde Overholt
7. 21K Dakotah Knuckles
8. 56 Tony Horton
9. 5 Gary Blanken
DNS 55 Howie Sturgill

In the second fourteen lap feature the top five finishers from the first feature would be inverted. That would place Larry "Goatman" Burke beside David Clark on the front row. The crowd was brought to its feet as the field stormed into turn one with several cars going three-wide in turn two. Burke would lead the first two laps with Robbie Buchanan in second until McMahan, who started fifth, dove down low and passed both cars taking the lead in turn two. Dakotah Knuckles, who started seventh would fight his way into the second spot by lap four. Blanken moved his way up from the rear of the field into third. McMahan would hold off the challenge from Knuckles and Blanken to make the sweep in the Modified Madness in the Dandridge Service Station & Garage, Derrick Whitson Attorney at Law, Jabo's Pharmacy, Oscar's Golf & Country Club sponsored Monte Carlo. In Victory Lane McMahan dedicated the wins to Anita Patterson, a longtime fan of McMahan's who passed away the night before.

Modified Street Feature #2

1. 33 Warren McMahan
2. 5 Gary Blanken
3. 21K Dakotah Knuckles
4. 56 Tony Horton
5. 4 Clyde Overholt
6. 1 David Clark
7. P21 Robbie Buchanan
8. 54 Larry Burke
9. 88 Brad Davis
DNS 55 Howie Sturgill

Last week's Limited Late Model winner Josh Collins of Powell would set fast time among thirteen Tazewell Late Model entries in qualifying with a lap of 11.840 seconds. With the invert points leader Jason Trammell, who missed the last two races while on vacation, would be on point alongside Steve Smith in the thirty lap feature. Trammell would take the lead at the start with Smith and Collins hot on his heels. By lap thirteen Trammell distanced himself from Smith and Collins as they battled for the second spot. Trammell would lead every lap in capturing his fourth win of the season in the Hatmaker Holdings, Fastlane Signs & Graphics, Trammell Construction, Vic Hill Racing Engine powered Bloomquist Camaro SS.

Tazewell Late Models

1. 90J Jason Trammell
2. 3 Steve Smith
3. 63 Josh Collins
4. B00 Josh Henry
5. 56J Jody Horton
6. 17 Brian Shockley
7. 18 Michael Rutherford
8. 22 Mathhew Holt
9. 11 Anthony Arnwine
10. 28 Jerry Williams
11. 71 Billy Gordon
12. 24 Allen Holt
DNS 24 Andy Wilder

Steve Carr of Rogersville set fast time in Sportsman qualifying and started third after the invert draw in the feature. Jordon Horton of Sneedville would share the front row with points leader Keith Chapman. Horton would lead the first lap until Carr used the middle groove to pass Horton for the lead. By the third lap Carr started pulling away from the field and lead the remaining laps. After refusing to tear down his motor in a protest by Horton, Carr was disqualified. Horton officially took his second win of the season in the Hardees, River Place on The Clinch, Greasy Rock Auto Shop, Cosmetic Alternatives, Gibson Tax Services, Bobby's Used Honda, Competition Racing Equipment, Harrison's True Value Hardware, Debbie Fields-Realty Group sponsored GRT race car.

1. 56H Jordon Horton
2. 97 Keith Chapman
3. 01 Wayne Rader
4. 46 Derrick Shockley
5. 7 Heath Alvey
DNS XXX Josh Chesney
DNS 29 Chris Raines
DNS 18 Rick Welch
DQ'd 77 Steve Carr

Chuck McMahan of Newport picked up his eleventh win of the season in the Round Boy Motorsports, Lowes Auto Parts, Jim Ford Automotive Ford Mustang. McMahan had to fight off a hard charging Brad Pressley and Kurt Owens in a three-way battle during the entire race.

4 Cylinder
1. 99 Chuck McMahan
2. 7UP Kurt owens
3. 19 Brad Pressley
4. B7 Bubby Braden
5. 111 Randy Dyke
6. 14 Chad Manning
7. 007 Hayston Collett
8. 23 Brandon Hubbard
9. 38 James Collett Jr.
10. B17 Daris Braden

Jonathan Miracle made it two in a row leading every lap of the Pure Street feature in the Dennis Whitaker owned Dodge Ram pickup over points leader Jason Saylor.

Pure Street
1. 26 Jonathan Miracle
2. 5 Jason Saylor
3. 21 Appaches Quinton
4. 92T Travis Crosby
5. 97 Bo Hall
6. 11 Toby Turner
7. 41 Shorty Ledford

After taking nine wins last season," Rocket Robbie" Sands would fend off Josh Chesney to record his first Classic Car feature of the year in the Flynn Carpet Service, PT Auto Class sponsored Classic sedan.

Classic Car
1. 17 Robbie Sands
2. 8 Josh Chesney
3. 13J Joel Wolfenbarger
4. 96 Logan Dukes
5. 18 Eli Keck
6. 1 Shane Lockhart
7. 7 John Stevens
8. 3 Jason Beeler
9. 44 Richie Overholser
10. 74 Justin Overton
11. 69 Phillip Thompson

This Saturday night July 27th we welcome back for the eighth straight year the finale of the Schaeffer's Southern Nationals Series brought to you by Tri-State Tire of Middlesboro, KY. The region's best Super Late Model drivers will be on hands to vie for the $5300 top prize. For more information call 423.626.222. Or visit and