August 23, 2013 - Making their first ever visit to the high banks of the fastest 1/3 mile dirt track in the nation, the Nesmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series attracted twenty-four late models to battle for $2,000 to win. Jimmy Elliot of Cleveland, TN would survive to pick up the win in only his first start with the series.

Young hotshoe Chris Wilson would set fast time in qualifying and earn the pole position for the forty lap main event. Attrition would be the theme of the feature as several front runners would drop out due to incidents and mechanical problems. Wilson would take the early lead followed by Johnny Stokes, Elliot and National Dirt Late Model Inductee Ronnie Johnson. On lap six Stokes would take the lead from Wilson whose night would end after Mack McCarter made contact on a restart after a caution on lap seven. Stokes would lead until lap twenty-four whne he slowed on the front stretch with motor problems. Elliot would take over the top spot and hold off a late challenge from Kyle Bronson to score the win in the Car Smart Auto Sales, Elliots Tire Center CVR race car.

NESMITH Late Models
1. J39 Jimmy Elliot
2. 40B Kyle Bronson
3. 5 Ronnie Johnson
4. 110 Brent Barrett
6. 19 Josh Adkins
7. 8 Chris Chandler
8. 117 Jake Teague
9. 18D Tait Davenport
10. 10 Matthew Turner
11. 114 Chris Cantrell
12. 23 Forrest Trent
13. 007 Roger Best
14. 1 Johnny Stokes
15. 32 Greg Huskey
16. 18 Ronnie Lee Hollingsworth
17. 19M Bobby Mayes
18. 25 Justin Beeler
19. 51 Mack McCarter
20. 71 Brian Courtney
21. 10 Chris Wilson
22. 1D Adam Beeler
23. 90 Jason Trammell
24. 25 Justin McRee

The large crowd on hand were treated to a $1500 to win Limited Late Model feature. Trevor Sise of Knoxville would set fast time among twenty-three competitors. Sise would share the front row with former track champion Jason Trammell. At the drop of the green Sise would charge to the top spot followed by Trammell, Travis Fultz, Josh Henry and Josh Collins. On lap six Henry would make his presence known as he took third away from Fultz and on the next lap would move past Trammell into second. As if shot out by a cannon Collins would come from the fifth spot and muscle into the second spot on lap eight. Wayne Rader would bring out the caution on lap nine and on the restart Collins would start working on Sise for the lead. Collins was able to pull up alongside Sise several times until lap fourteen when he used the outside line to take the lead away going down the back stretch. On lap sixteen Henry would put the slide job on Sise to shove his way into second. The scariest moment of the night came when Anthony Arnwine slowed on the front stretch on lap seventeen. As Sise came out of turn four with a head of steam he collided with the back of Arnwines's car collecting Trammell in the process. Sise would emerge uninjured and Trammell was able to continue. On the restart Collins would pull away from the field to score his second Tazewell Speedway victory in the Spatacular Salon, Tyler Jenkins Racing, JCM Components, A+ Electric, Vic Hill Racing Engine powered Warrior Race Car.

Limited Late Models
1. 63 Josh Collins
2. B00 Josh Henry
3. 90J Jason Trammell
4. 3 Steve Smith
5. 31 Greg Estes
6. T0 Travis Fultz
7. 2 Anthony White
8. 56J Jody Horton
9. XXX Josh Chesney
10. 12 Craig Gregg
11. 28 Jerry Williams Jr.
12. 22 Matthew Holt
13. 17 Brian Shockley
14. 11J Jordon Horton
15. 73 Trevor Sise
16. 11 Anthony Arnwine
17. 18 Michael Rutherford
18. 0 Ross White
19. 01 Wayne Rader
20. G71 Billy Gordon
DNS D00 Josh Driskill
DNS 24 Allen Holt
DNS 2 Donnie Cameron

In Modified Street action Gary Blanken of Morristown would collect his seventh win of the season in the Britt's Welding, West Side Market, Morristown Towing and Automotive, Mack's Auto Salvage Monte Carlo.

Modified Street
1. 5 Gary Blanken
2. 56 Tony Horton
3. 4 Clyde Overholt
4. P21 Robbie Buchanan
5. 54 Larry Burke
6. 33 Warren McMahan
7. 9 Curtis Jones

Kurt Owens of Newport would move from his sixth starting spot to battle door to door with Chuck McMahan in the 4 Cylinder feature. Owens would take the lead on lap eight to record the win in the always popular 7Up Mustang.

4 Cylinder
1. 7Up Kurt Owens
2. 99 Chuck Mcmahan
3. 111 Randy Dyke
4. 14 Chad Manning
5. 44J Jeromy Collins
6. 72 Rufus Collett
7. 007 Hayston Collett
8. 1 Jason Turner
DNS 13 John Collett

Josh Chesney of Maynardville in the Fat Boyz Racing, Maynardville Muffler Center, Hot Rods Paint & Body, Eddies Auto Parts, Crossroads Motors, Inskip Body Shop Ford Sedan made his back to Victory Lane as he scored his fifth Classic Car win of the season over a hard charging Matt Tharp.

1. 8 Josh Chesney
2. 20 Matt Tharp
3. 18 Eli Keck
4. 24 Phillip Thompson
5. 44 Richie Overholser
6. 68 Joe Keck
7. 1 Shane Lockhart
8. 74 Justin Overton
9. 13J Joel Wolfenbarger
10. 3 Jason Beeler
11. 7 John Stevens

In the tightest race of the evening Dustin Eldridge held off Jason Saylor and Jonathan Miracle for his first win of the season in the Linda's Beauty Shop, Ferguson Lawn Care, Overholt Fabrication Monte Carlo.

Pure Street
1. 94 Dustin Eldridge
2. 5 Jason Saylor
3. 26 Jonathan Miracle
4. 15 Jason Long
5. 21 Appaches Quinton
6. 01 Luke Sharp
7. 11 Toby Turner
8. 10 Garry Jones
9. 92T Travis Crosby
10. 97 Bo Hall

This Sunday, September 1st we welcome back the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series for the 5th Annual Buddy Rogers Memorial. The 44 lap Super Late Model Feature will pay $4,400 to win. For more information call 423.626.2222 and check us out on Facebook and Twitter.