September 14, 2013 - Even with the start of Friday night football and cooler nighttime tempratures the ever faithful Tazewell Speedway drivers and fans gathered to honor one of our own. Buster Cupp, a longtime track official and Pure Street competitor, passed away suddenly on December 29th of last year. The 28 lap Pure Street feature would be in honor of Buster's car number on his familiar El Camino. Jonathan Miracle would set quick time among ten entries and share the front row with Steve Smith of Barbourville, KY. After a few failed attempts at a clean start Smith would take the lead followed by Miracle and Daniel Carpenter. Smith, who had taken several weeks off, would lead every lap for his fifth win of the season in the Shane's Body Shop, Gordon Construction Camaro. In Victory Lane Smith dedicated the win to the memory of Buster Cupp.

Pure Street Buster Cupp Memorial

1. 2 Steve Smith
2. 26 Jonathan Miracle
3. 5 Jason Saylor
4. 15 Jason Long
5. 94 Dustin Eldridge
6. C5 Daniel Carpenter
7. 97 Bo Hall
8. 10 Garry Jones
9. 11 Tim Stevens
10. 92T Travis Crosby

Young hotshoe Josh Collins of Powell would set quick time among fiteen entries in Tazewell Late Model qualifying. After the invert draw he would start third in the feature behind fellow Powell native Steve Smith. Smith and Jason Trammell would bring the field to the green flag. As they stormed into turn one Collins shot to the bottom to take the lead followed by Smith, Trammell, Josh Henry and Travis Fultz. On lap six Anthony Arnwine would bring out the caution after making contact with Fultz. On the restart Smith would dive to the bottom in hopes of taking the lead away from Collins. The caution flag would fly again on lap twelve for debris on the track. During the caution Collins would go pitside with a flat right rear tire, giving the lead to Smith. After the restart Trammell would race door to door with Smith battling for the lead. Smith would hold on to the lead until lap seventeen when he lost a right rear tire in turn two. Trammell would inherit the lead and go on to score his fourth win of the season in the Fast Lane Signs and Graphics, Trammell Construction, Hatmaker Holdings, Sun Electric Company, Vic Hill Racing Engine powered Bloomquist Race Car. Last year's Rookie of the Year Matthew Holt would finish in a season's best fourth and Brad Dyer of Mohawk would finish fifth in his first ever start at Tazewell Speedway.

Tazewell Late Models

1. 90J Jason Trammell
2. B00 Josh Henry
3. T0 Travis Fultz
4. 22 Matthew Holt
5. 17 Brad Dyer
6. 17 Brian Shockley
7. 15 Wade Howerton
8. 3 Steve Smith
9. 56J Jody Horton
10. 11 Anthony Arnwine
12. 24 Allen Holt
13. 12 Craig Gregg
14. 28 Jerry Williams Jr.
15. 18 Michael Rutherford

A season high twenty-one cars signed in for Sportsman qualifying. The new series for 2013 has garnered a lot of attention with up-and-coming drivers and team that are budget minded. Steve Carr of Rogersville would set fast time and draw the pole position for the feature. After several failed attempts for a start due to cars spinning Carr would jump into the lead trailed by Heath Alvey, Jordon Horton, Billy Gordon and Greg Huskey. By lap six Carr had caught up to the tail end of the field. As Carr weaved his way through lap traffic, Alvey and Horton challenged Carr for the lead. Carr would hold off all challengers for his fourth win of the year in the Odello Enterprises, Holston Auto Parts, Spiders Race Engine powered Hopson Race Car. After the race a protest was issued for Carr's motor and after inspection the motor was declared legal.


1. 77 Steve Carr
2. 7 Heath Alvey
3. 32 Greg Huskey
4. 01 Wayne Rader
5. 97 Keith Chapman
6. 35 Matt Tharp
7. 18 Anthony Burchett
8. 75 Chris Long
9. 88 Billy Gordon
10. 29 Chris Raines
11. 34 Phillip Shockley
12. 21W Ken Wilkerson
13. X Mike Kelley
14. 99 Jeff Day
15. 56H Jordon Horton
16. 21 Bryan Howerton
17. 46 Derrick Shockley
18. 24 Andy Wilder
19. 1 Johnny Simpson
20. 25 Justin Beeler
DNS 8 Larry Moore

Gary Blanken of Morristown would set quick time in Modified Street and share the front row of the feature with second generation driver Clyde Overholt. At the drop of the green Dakotah Knuckles would charge from the third starting spot to challenge Blanken for the lead. Knuckles would retire on lap four with problems. Blanken would pull out to a commanding lead over the rest of the field to collect the win in the Britt's Welding, West Side Market, Morristown Towing and Automotive, Mack's Auto Salvage Monte Carlo.
During the driver's meeting it was decided that it would be the last points night for the Modified Street division as they prepare for the $2000 to win Fall Brawl in October. Robbie Buchanan will be awarded the points championship and Dakotah Knuckles earned Rookie of the Year honors.

Modified Street
1. 5 Gary Blanken
2. 56 Tony Horton
3. 4 Clyde Overholt
4. P21 Robbie Buchanan
5. 54 Larry Burke
6. 21K Dakotah Knuckles
DNS 01 Jerry Hux

Chuck McMahan continued his dominance of the Four Cylinder division as he lead every lap of the feature in the Round Boy Motorsports, Lowes Auto Parts, Jim Ford Automotive Mustang.

Four Cylinder
1. 99 Chuck Mcmahan
2. 7UP Kurt Owens
3. 111 Randy Dyke
4. 007 Chris Reichert
5. 72 Rufus Collett
6. 21 Bobby Reichert
7. 19 Travis Dawson
8. 44J Jeromy Collins

Phillip Thompson of Knoxville would set fast time and lead every lap of the Classic Car feature for his second win of the year in the Skyline Transportation, Flynn Carpet Service, PTR Racing sedan.

Classic Cars
1. 24 Phillip Thompson
2. 8 Gary Blanken
3. 18 Eli Keck
4. 1 Shane Lockhart
5. 44 Richie Overholser
6. 74 Justin Overton
7. 7 Bart Baxter
8. 2 Chris Evans
9. 3 Jason Beeler
10. 13J Joel Wolfenbarger
11. 7 John Stevens

This weekend will be a double header at The Bad Fast Taz. On Friday night September 20th we will present the Fab Four Fiesta. Four Cylinders will compete in twin features. Also in action will be our Tazewell Late Models, Sportsman, Modified Street and Classic Cars. On Sunday night September 22nd the Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series will be back to finish the program that was postponed from August 18th. Sportsman, Pure Street, Classics and Four Cylinders will complete their feature on that night. For more information call 423.626.2222 or visit us at Also check us out on Facebook and Twitter.