Follow us on social media:



May 24, 2014 - It was a luck night to have the name Josh as Josh Collins, Josh Fields and Josh Chesney all picked up wins. Helping to kick off the Memorial Day weekend the Tazewell Speedway fans were once again treated to a night full of hard racing. The full crowd also witnessed the 9th Annual Kids Foot Races and a driver picking up his first late model win.
Josh Henry of Newport would set fast time in Tazewell Late Model qualifying with a lap of 12.548 seconds and line up on the outside pole of the feature with last week's winner Steve Smith. The duo would battle side by side for the first few circuits with Smith taking the point and Henry using the low groove to stay locked on target. Just behind them Dakotah Knuckles was duking it out with Brian Hendrix for the third spot. Smith held on to the lead until lap nine when Henry took the point using the outside line. Smith would shove his way back into the lead on the next lap. On lap eleven Smith and Henry were door to door once again on the back stretch bringing the crowd to it's feet. As the pair barrelled down the front stretch and into turn one they would make contact fighting for real estate. Smith's car would spin and both cars would go pitside with flat tires. Dakotah Knuckles would inherit the lead followed by Hendrix, Josh Collins, Jody Horton and Brian Shockley. Henry and Smith would rejoin the field at the tail of the lead lap. Up front Knuckles was holding off a hard charging Hendrix until lap thirteen when Hendrix spun on his own in turn two, giving up the second spot to Collins. On lap seventeen Knuckles slipped up high in turn two which opened the door for Collins to take the lead. Meanwhile Smith and Henry had worked their way back into the top five. Smith would take second away from Knuckles with Henry right on his back bumper on lap twenty-one. Henry would move around Smith for second on lap twenty-three. Neither had enough to catch Collins who picked up his third win of the season in the Doug Gregory Motorsports, B&B Race Engines, TrakStar Race Car sponsored by O'Reilly Auto Parts, Outlaw Graphics and Weeks Fabrication

Tazewell Late Models
1. 44 Josh Collins
2. B00 Josh Henry
3. 3 Steve Smith
4. 21K Dakotah Knuckles
5. 22 Matthew Holt
6. 5 Bryan Hendrix
7. 46 Brian Shockley
8. 15 Wade Howerton
9. 56J Jody Horton
10. 24 Andy Wilder

Josh Fields of Tazewell would earn his first ever Sportsman fast qualifier with a lap of 12.855 seconds. Fields, who car was heavily damaged in last week's first lap melee, was seeking his first Late Model victory after garnering a win in the 4 Cylinder division a few years ago. Fields would draw the pole position on the invert draw and line up alongside Heath Alvey for the feature. At the drop of the green Fields quickly took the point followed by Alvey, Jordon Horton, Clyde Overholt and Jacob Owens. The first caution flag came out on lap six as Owens spun on his own. On the restart Alvey would spin in turn two ending and would go to the tail of the field. Horton would mount a challenge to take the lead away from Fields using the low line where the moisture was. It wasn't enough as Fields lead every lap picking up his first Sportsman win in the Debbie Fields-The Realty Group, Barren Creek Beef Jerky, The Boot Barn, West Haven Speed Equipment, Hendren Race Engines powered CVR Race Car.

1. 11 Josh Fields
2. 56H Jordon Horton
3. 4 Clyde Overholt
4. 7 Heath Alvey
5. D00 Josh Driskill
6. 34V Jason Varner
7. 30 Taylor Coffman
8. G7 Billy Gordon
9. 5 Eli Keck
10. 77 Steve Carr
11. 21 Brian Howerton
12. 8 Jacob Owens
DNS 007 Matt Shockley

Two-time track champion Tony Horton of Sneedville would set quick time in Modified Street and draw the ouside pole sharing the front row with Dahotah Knuckles. Knuckles would jump into the early lead yet after a lap one caution Horton would move into the point after the restart. Horton was cruising in the lead until lap twelve when he slowed on the track with smoke emerging from the car. Last week's winner Brad Davis dropped out on the same lap as debris punched a hole in his radiator. Knuckles would inherit the lead and hold off a tenacious Robbie Buchanan for his seocnd win of the seasn. Knuckles car is sponsored by Hickory Star Marina & Resort, Jovida Enterprises, Patty's Neighborhood Market, Petty's Wrecker Service and Eagle Race Engines.

Modified Street
1. 21K Dakotah Knuckles
2. P21 Robbie Buchanan
3. 54 Larry Burke
4. 56 Tony Horton
5. 88 Brad Davis

The Classic Car division once again had a strong field with fifteen cars signing in. Phillip Thompson would set the fast time and draw the three on the invert. This would place Matt Tharp and Josh Chesney on the front row of the feature. Chesney would slip into the lead on the first circuit trailed by Joel Wolfenbarger, Tharp and Thompson. On the next lap Thompson moved on the outside of Wolfenbarger to take over second. Thompson would slide up high coming out of turn two on lap six allowing Tharp to move into second. Thompson would take the spot back on the next circuit. Thompson would challenge Chesney for the lead several times diving to the low groove looking for traction. That would end on lap thirteen as Thompson slowed going down the back stretch. As he moved down out of the racing groove he would collect Wolfenbarger. Both drivers would retire for the night. Meanwhile Chesney would lead the rest of the way for his first win of the year Inskip Barber Shop, Hot Rod's Paint and Body, Walker Enterprises Classic Car sedan.

Classic Cars
1. 8 Josh Chesney
2. 20 Matt Tharp
3. 33X Cameron Skinner
4. 2 Chris Evans
5. 99 Justin Overton
6. 3 Jason Beeler
7. 88 Richie Overholser
8. C74 Cliff Lane
9. 24 Phillip Thompson
10. 13J Joel Wolfenbarger
11. 59 Shawn Walton
12. 18 Eli Keck
13. 18 Garrik Kelley
14. 24 Scott Lacy
DNS 7 Bart Baxter

Jason Saylor of Harlan, KY lead every lap of the Pure Street feature to make it two-in-a-row in the After Hours Designs Monte Carlo.

Pure Street

1. 5 Jason Saylor
2. 26 Jonathan Miracle
3. 11 Tim Stevens
4. 15 Jason Long
5. 42 Jack England
6. 97 Bo Hall
7. 22 T.J. Barnes
8. 92T Travis Crosby
9. 17 Josh Brock

Chuck McMahan flexed his muscle leading every lap of the 4 Cylinder feature for his fourth win of the season in the FBR Racing, Round Boy Motorsports, Lowes Auto Parts Ford Mustang.

4 Cylinders
1. 99 Chuck McMahan
2. 111 Randy Dyke
3. 44J jeromy Collins
4. 2 Tim Miller
5. 66 Aaron Hayes
6. 9 Brad Collins
7. 2 Roger Hurst
8. 72 Rufus Collett

This Friday night May 30 we welcome back the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series for the 9th Annual Toyota Knoxville 50 paying $10,000 to win. Some of the nation's best Super Late Model drivers will be on hand battling for a total purse of almost $50,000. Classic Cars will race for $500 to win and Sportsman will race for $700 to win.