Follow us on social media:



June 14, 2014 - Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, TN scored a dominating win on Saturday night in the 50-lap Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series main event at Tazewell Speedway driving the NeSmith Chevrolet Special. Johnson earned the pole position with Fast Time honors, took the lead on lap six, and never looked back to take his second straight series victory.
“The Chattanooga Flash” was so aggressive turning laps around the ¼-mile high-banked clay oval from the first practice lap, through qualifying while setting fast time at 11.871 seconds, and all 50-laps of the main event, he was asked after the race if he was mad at somebody. When Johnson took the checkered flag, he had a 2.379 margin of victory over Tyler Crowder of Lamont, FL in the Crowder Trucking Rocket. Crowder was involved in back-and-forth battle for the second spot with Jacob Grizzle of Blairsville, GA, who finished third in the Carolina Performance Special. When the field took the green flag to start the race, Johnson raced side-by-side with the outside front row starter Crowder on the opening tour. Crowder had the momentum coming off the fourth turn to take the lead followed by Johnson, Grizzle, Griffin and Mack McCarter of Gatlinburg, TN in the CVR Race Cars house car.
The first of four caution flags came out on lap four when Barrett spun in turn two. The field raced one more lap when the caution bulb was lit for the second time when Edge spun in turn four collecting Sparks. During the green flag lap between caution flags, McCarter was able to get around Griffin for the fourth spot. The restart saw Johnson chose the outside for the “Dixie-Style” double-file restart behind the race leader Crowder. After the restart, Johnson cleared Grizzle off the second turn, and then dove to the inside to challenge Crowder for the lead. On lap six, Crowder got a little loose coming off the second turn, and Johnson charged underneath to take the lead. Things do happen fast at The Bad Fast Taz, as it took the National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame Inductee 18 minutes and 38.480 seconds to run 50 laps including the four caution periods. For more information about the Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series visit the series web site at, or visit the series on Facebook at Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series.

Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series presented by West Chevrolet

1. 5 Ronnie Johnson
2. 42 Tyler Crowder
3. 99 Jacob Grizzle
4. 66 Jake Knowles
5. 49 Dingus Griffin
6. 10 Matthew Turner
7. 8 Jadon Frame
8. 110 Brent Barrett
9. 18 Chase Edge
10. 11 Lavon Sparks
11. 88 Mark Dowdy
12. 51 Mack McCarter

This time last year Terry Wolfenbarger of Powell was uncertain about his racing career after back surgery. Fortunately the surgery was a success and the east Tennessee veteran was eager to get back behind the wheel and compete at The Taz, one of his favorite tracks. Steve Smith of Powell would set fast time among twelve entries the Tazewell Late Models as they vied for $1500 to win. Smith would draw the three on the invert draw which out Knoxville's Jason Trammell on the pole of the feature alongside Wolfenbarger. Trammell would shoot into the lead after the drop of gren followed by Wolfenbarger and Jody Horton. By lap eight Trammell had an almost half-track lead over the rest of the field and by lap ten had caught up with the tail end of the field. Just as Trammell was slicing his way through lap traffic bad luck would strike for the second week in a row as his car slowed on lap fifteen with rear end troubles. Wolfenbarger would inherit the point and lead the rest of the way for his first Tazewell Late Model victory and the $1500 first prize in the National Auto Parts, Base Fuels and Oils, A-1 Muffler, MagnaBlast, Exide Batteries, RT Coatings sponsored Bloomquist Built Race Car powered by a B&B Racing Engine.

Tazewell Late Models
1. 14 Terry Wolfenbarger
2. 56J Jody Horton
3. 3 Steve Smith
4. B00 Josh Henry
5. 12 Craig Gregg
6. 44 Josh Collins
7. 22 Matthew Holt
8. 46 Brian Shockley
9. 28 Jerry Williams Jr.
10. 24 Andy Wilder
11. 90J Jason Trammell
12. 15 Wade Howerton

Jordon Horton of Sneedville would set fast time and draw the one on the invert to earn the pole for the $700 to win Sportsman feature. Horton would ease his way into the lead at the drop of the green yet got loose coming out of turn two allowing Powell's Keith Chapman to slip by for the top spot. Chapman would extend the lead until lap six when Horton started reeling him in. By lap nine Horton was on Chapman's back bumper. Chapman would hold off Horton, who was looking for his seventh win of the season, as they contended with lap traffic. As the white flag was being displayed for the field Horton's engine would erupt in a plume of smoke as he exited turn four. After a green/white/checkered finish Chapman would emerge the winner in the Trammell Consruction, Quality Medical Center, Fast Lane Signs and Graphics, Hatmaker Holdings, Tornado Alley Car Wash sponsored Studebaker SS. Bean Station's Jacob Owens and Taylor Coffman would record career best Sportsman finishes.

1. 97 Keith Chapman
2. 8 Jacob Owens
3. 30 Taylor Coffman
4. G7 Billy Gordon
5. 2 Steve Smith
6. 02 Michael Hawk
7. 56H Jordon Horton
8. G71 Dustin Hoover

Logan Dukes of Knoxville made his first appearance of the season and set quick time in Classic Car qualifying. After drawing the two in the invert Dukes would start on the outside of the front row of the feature beside Joel Wolfenbarger, last week's winner. Wolfenbarger would take the early lead trailed by Dukes, Justin Overton, Richie Overholser and Eli Keck. Dukes would stay right in the tire tracks of Wolfenbarger waiting for his opportunity to strike. That chance wouldn't come as Wolfenbarger used his ever growing experience to lead every lap and score his third win of the season in the Midway IGA, Red's Barber Shop, Halls Auto Parts, Rockin R Graphics, Tennessee RV Sales and Service, The Diner at Twisters Classic Car coupe.

Classic Cars

1. 13J Joel Wolfenbarger
2. 5 Logan Dukes
3. 20 Matt Tharp
4. 99 Justin Overton
5. 18 Eli Keck
6. C74 Cliff Lane
7. 2 Tim Stevens
8. 8 Richie Overholser
9. 7 John Stevens
10. XXX Josh Chesney

Daniel Carpenter of Harlan, KY held off the challenge from Jason Saylor for his first Pure Street win of the season in the Hubb Creek Corporation, Redneck Customs Chevy Camaro. Carpenter and Saylor battled door to door several times with Kevin Smith lurking behind them.

Pure Street
1. C5 Daniel Carpenter
2. 5 Jason Saylor
3. 58 Kevin Smith
4. 97 Bo Hall
5. 10 Cody Thompson
DNS 26 Jonathan Miracle

This Saturday night June 21st we present the Fab Four Fiesta with twin features and double points for our 4 Cylinder division. Also racing will be our Tazewell Late Models, Sportsman, Modified Street, Pure Street and Classic Cars. It will also be $1 hot dog night!