Follow us on social media:



July 3, 2014 -

Tazewell Late Models were in the spotlight as thirteen drivers from around the region gathered to battle for $1500 to win. Jason Trammell of Knoxville turned the quickest lap in time trials with a lap of 12.182 seconds. After the invert draw Trammell would start on the pole alongside Greg Estes of Jonesville, VA in the thirty lap feature. Trammell jumped out to the lead early leaving Estes to battle side by side with Josh Henry of Newport for the second spot. Trammell pulled out to a sizable lead until lap eight when he caught lap traffic. Estes closed the gap and followed Trammell through the traffic. Trammell pulled away once again as they cleared the cars a lap down. A caution on lap twenty-three for a spinning Brian Shockley of Thorn Hill would allow Corey Hedgecock of Loudon to take over the third spot from Henry on the restart. Hedgecock, who started seventh, used another caution on lap twenty-seven to zero in on Estes. On the restart Hedgecock slipped by Estes in turn two and used the remaining laps to track down Trammell. The battle came down to the last lap as Hedgecock pulled alongside Trammell as they exited turn four. Trammell edged Hedgecock by a fender at the line to make it two in a row in the Trammell Construction, Quality Medical Center, Fast Lane Signs and Graphics, Hatmaker Holdings, Tornado Alley Car Wash, Merle 97, Vic Hill Racing Engine powered Rayburn Race Car. With two wins and several top five finishes Josh Henry was awarded the Tazewell Late Model Mid Season Champion.

Tazewell Late Models
1. 90J Jason Trammell
2. 23 Corey Hedgecock
3. 31 Greg Estes
4. B00 Josh Henry
5. 44 Josh Collins
6. 14 Terry Wolfenbarger
7. 5 Bryan Hendrix
8. 73 Trevor Sise
9. 46 Brian Shockley
10. 22 Matthew Holt
11. 7 William Overbey
12. 12 Craig Gregg
13. 56J Jody Horton

Josh Fields of Tazewell was quickest among fourteen Sportsman drivers in qualifying with a lap of 12.635 seconds and draw the pole for the feature. Fields would hold off a hard charge early from Jordon Horton of Sneedville, who started fifth. A caution on lap nine would bunch up the field and on the restart Justin Beeler of Knoxville squeezed by Horton to take over second. Up front it was Josh Fields leading every lap of the feature in the Debbie Fields-The Realty Group, Barren Creek Beef Jerky, The Boot Barn, West Haven Speed Equipment, United Capital Lending, The Boot Barn sponsored, Hendren Race Engines powered CVR Race Car. Jordon Horton used his seven wins to earn the Sportsman Mid Season Points Championship.

1. 11 Josh fields
2. 25 Justin Beeler
3. 56H Jordon Horton
4. 34V Jason Varner
5. 2 Steve Smith
6. D00 Josh Driskill
7. 8 Jacob Owens
8. 24 Andy Wilder
9. 21 Brian Howerton
10. 50 Alan Cole
11. G71 Dustin Hoover
12. 4 Clyde Overholt
13. 39 Wade Howerton
14. G7 Billy Gordon

Last year’s Modified Street Champion Robbie Buchanan of Tazewell was fastest in time trials and after the invert draw would start on the outside of the front row of the feature beside Gary Blanken of Morristown. Blanken took the lead as the field went into turn one with Buchanan, Brad Davis and Tony Horton following in his tracks. Horton’s night would end on lap three with a blown engine. On the restart Buchanan set his sights on Blanken for the lead. On lap eight Blanken’s car would get loose and spin exiting turn four giving Buchanan the top spot. Buchanan would hold off Davis in the remaining laps and break Davis’ winning streak. Buchanan’s car is sponsored by Robbie’s Auto Sales, Petty’s Wrecker Service, Sign Center, O.T.'s Frame and Body Shop, P&P Cole, and Christian Construction and is powered by a DJ’s Performance Race Engine, With six wins so far this season Brad Davis garnered the Modified Street Mid Season Points Championship.

Modified Street
1. P21 Robbie Buchanan
2. 88 Brad Davis
3. 5 Gary Blanken
4. 21 Michael Boyd
5. 54 Mitchell Burke
6. 56 Tony Horton

Phillip Thompson of Knoxville used a brand new Classic Car to earn fast time in qualifying. Thompson would start on the outside front row of the feature and take away the lead from pole sitter Joe Keck on the second lap. Leading every lap Thompson scored his fifth win of the season in the Skyline Transportation, Filmax Filtration Systems, Logistics Detailers, Flynn Carpet Service Classic Car with power from an Eagle Race Engine. Justin Overton of Middlesboro, KY, with several solid top five finishes, would earn enough points to be crowned the Classic Car Mid Season Points Champion.

Classic Cars
1. 24 Phillip Thompson
2. 5 Logan Dukes
3. 78 Joe Keck
4. 99 Justin Overton
5. XXX Josh Chesney
6. 13J Joel Wolfenbarger
7. C74 Cliff Lane
8. 18 Eli Keck
9. 59 John Stevens
DNS 8 Richie Overholser

Chuck McMahan of Newport worked his way from the fifth starting spot to take the lead on lap two and score his seventh 4 Cylinder victory of the season in the Round Boy Motorsports, FBR, Lowes Auto Parts Ford Mustang. Along with the win McMahan was awarded the Mid Season Championship trophy.

4 Cylinder
1. 99 Chuck McMahan
2. 44J Jeromy Collins
3. B7 Bubby Braden
4. 67 David Singleton
5. 72 Rufus Collett
6. 2 Roger Hurst
7. 13 Hayston Collett
DNS A27 Allen Holloway

Jason Long of Morristown ended his winless streak that ran all the way back to June of last year as he lead every lap of the Pure Street feature in the Cuz Customs, Morristown Towing & Automotive, Matlock Decals Monte Carlo. Jonathan Miracle of Tazewell used his four wins to secure the Mid Season Points Championship.

Pure Street
1. 15 Jason Long
2. 26 Jonathan Miracle
3. 97 Bo Hall
4. 5 Jason Saylor
5. 10 Austin Neely
6. 58 Kevin Smith
DNS 92T Travis Crosby