Knuckles makes it back-to-back wins

Carrying momentum from last week Dakotah Knuckles of Ewing, VA took the Late Model feature lead on the third lap en route to his second win in a row. Knuckles would turn the fastest lap in qualifying yet draw a four on the invert, leaving him to start in the last spot of the Fast Car Dash.  Tazewell’s Austin Neely would win the dash over Jason Trammell of Knoxville, Chicky Barton of Middlesboro, KY and Knuckles.
Bringing the field to the green flag Trammell and Neely would drag race down the front stretch with Trammell taking the point in turn two. Knuckles would shove his way past Neely before the first lap was completed. Two laps later Knuckles pulled even with Trammell and used the bottom groove to take the lead in turn two.
After taking the lead Knuckles smashed the loud pedal and quickly widened his lead over Trammell. With five laps to go Knuckles had a full stretch lead over the field to capture his second win in a row piloting the Florida Veterinary Cardiology, Marcum Oil, Howerton Roofing, ALACO, Jovida Enterprises, Hickory Star Marina, Liberty Sport & Pawn, Hill’s Truck Repair, Timberline Barns sponsored Rocket Race Car powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine.
Late Models
1. 21K Dakotah Knuckles
2. 90J Jason Trammell
3. 144 Chick Barton
4. 22 Matthew Holt
5. 11 Josh Fields
6. 3 Austin Neely
7. 4 Clyde Overholt
8. 56J Jody Horton
9. 17 Brian Shockley
Travis Fultz of Harrogate had the Sportsman car to beat as he timed the quickest lap in time trials with Barbourville, KY’s Cody Smith sharing the front row of the twenty lap feature. With the drop of the green flag Fultz set sail as Smith had his hands full with a pesky Aaron Guinn of Russellville. By the mid-point of the race Fultz had a 6 car length advatage over Smith. Leading flag-to-flag Fultz scored his second win in a row and third win of the season behind the wheel of the im Fletcher Heating & Cooling, Bailey’s Body Shop, Petty’s Wrecker Service sponsored DJ’s Performance Race Engine powered Rocket Race Car.
1. T0 Travis Fultz
2. 11 Cody Smith
3. 97 Aaron Guinn
4. 53 Floyd Branham
5. 24 Andy Wilder
6. 122 Matt Shockley
7. 22 Jason Sizemore
8. 15 Donovan Long
9. 17 Logan Seal
10. 8W Paul Whitley
Coming into Saturday night’s action Tazewell’s Brad Davis had won seven of the nine Super Stock features. With the bounty still out for any driver that could beat him Davis elected to start on the tail end of the feature to try and even up the competition. Former Modified Street champion Tony Horton of Sneedville would start on the pole with Tazewell’s Cody Thompson starting alongside on the front row.
Horton would lead the first seven laps until his car slowed on the back stretch, ending his night. Thompson would inherit the lead with Davis giving chase. The quest for the eight win of the season would end for Davis on lap nine as his engine began puffing smoke. Thompson would go unchallenged for his second win of the year in the Thompson Farms, Slim & Trim Weight Loss Center, Southern Pride Recycling, Duncan Lumber Company, Legacy Printing & Antiques, S & G Farms sponsored, Phantom Race Engine powered Cow Town Chassis. Thompson would not collect the bounty due to Davis not finishing the feature.
Super Stock
1. 83 Cody Thompson
2. C4 Logan Cobb
3. 88 Brad Davis
4. 56 Tony Horton
Last year’s Classic Car points champion John Stevens of Wallins Creek, KY recorded his fifth win of the season in the Hensley Trucking & Excavating, Anna Mae’s Vapor, The Parts House, Chad Shannon State Farm Insurance, Hensley Grocery, Slingin Ink Tattoos, Red Eye Racing Classic Car sedan.  Stevens would lead every lap as Maynarville’s Josh Chesney and Tim Stevens of Harlan, KY kept the crowd entertained by battling door to door.
Classic Car
1. 7 John Stevens
2. 1 Josh Chesney
3. 19 Tim Stevens
4. 5 Hayston Collett
5. 16 Will Carey
6. 2 Bradley Hutchinson
7. 1C Billy Woods
8. 1N Chris Evans
Chris Reichert of Knoxville led every lap of the 4 Cylinder feature for his second win in a row yet the eyes of the crowd were on Tyler Haynes of Hickory Flat, VA. Staying on the back bumper of Reichert in the opening laps Haynes would spin on his own on lap six. Working his way back through the field to finish a close second. Reichert picked up the win in the T & N Race Engine powered, Drip or Die Vaporium, Friendly Tire, West Haven Speed Equipment sponsored Ford Mustang.
4 Cylinder
1. 22 Chris Reichert
2. 17 Tyler Haynes
3. 72 Rufus Collett
4. 25 Joe Myers
5. 63 Walter Walsh
6. 23 Johnny Coggins
DNS 5 Terry Boshears
Updated: June 26, 2017 — 8:51 AM
© Tazewell Speedway (All images are property of Tazewell Speedway and shall not be used without permission)