With cool weather finally here Tazewell Speedway opened its gates one last time for 2010 with seven classes of race cars racing in six feature events including the crowd-pleasing super late models racing for a $ 2,000 first place check. Also the hobby stock and pure street lined up to battle each other in a $ 600 to win feature. The cars took to the track and got the clay ready for hotlaps and then qualifying.

The Modified Street cars were the first to qualify on this early fall night. The quick time went to Clyde Overholt with a lap of 13.603 seconds. The Super Late Models qualified second and Tazewell Speedway regular Jason Trammell took the pole honors with a lap of 11.589 seconds. Third on the track was the Tazewell Late Models. Travis Fultz took the pole position with a trip around the Taz in 11.864 seconds. Next was the Tazewell Classics with the top spot going to Logan Dukes with a time of 14.371 seconds. In the Hobby-Pure Street qualification Shannon Emory had quick time. His lap was 14.160 seconds.

Taking to the track first for racing action was the Four-cylinder class. The race was led to green by a front row of Joey Allen and 10. Allen and Chuck McMahan battled up front the entire race with the win going to Allen. 2010 season champion Joey Allen and crew celebrated his tenth win.

Four Cylinder Results
1 A00 Joey Allen
2 99 Chuck McMahan
3 A27 Allen Holloway
4 B7 Bubby Braden
5 2 Mark Wallace
6 10 Bobby Lovin
7 2A Austin Fancher DNS
8 27 Tommy Steakley Tow Only

Up second was the Modified Street class with Clyde Overholt taking the field into turn one. Overholt and Robbie Buchanon stayed one-two until lap 7. The caution was displayed for a spin in turn 4. On the restart Overholt once again got the jump and stayed out front until the caution was displayed for fluids on the track. Running in third was Warren McMahan who had his hands full with Gary Blanken behind him. When the field went green again the cars of Tony Horton and Larry Burke got locked together after a crash in turn two. 2010 champion Horton was done for the night. On lap 12 McMahan got around Buchanon and began drawing in on the leader. He passed on the final lap for the win.

Modified Street Results
1 33 Warren McMahan
2 4 Clyde Overholt
3 P21 Robbie Buchanan
4 5 Gary Blanken
5 24 Allen Holt
6 54 Larry Burke
7 56H Jordan Horton
8 1 Matt Shockley
9 20 Scottie Adkins
10 56 Tony Horton
11 36 Bubba Long
12 22 Jason Sizemore
13 XXX Josh Chesney DNS
14 9 David Smith Tow Only

The Supers hit the clay next with Jason Trammell leading the way. Steve Smith got the jump on Trammell and left Rick Rogers and Trammell to battle for second. On lap 11, Rogers fell off the pace moving Chad Ogle into third but more importantly moving Trammell to the rear of Smith's Rayburn. After changing a flat Rogers rejoined. On the restart Trammell gave a couple of car lengths away but got them back as the caution flag flew for a Jeff Neubert spin in turn two. Trammell slipped on lap 21 and gave a cushion that Smith used to take the win. With the win Smith ended a three-year drought. He celebrated a long overdue win in victory lane with his trusty Rayburn car and thanked the fans.

Super Late Model Results
1 3 Steve Smith
2 90J Jason Trammell
3 10 Chad Ogle
4 44 Rick Rogers
5 7 Marty Calloway
6 7 Brain Smith
7 86 Jeff Neubert
8 25 Jeff Maupin

2010 TLM ChampionTravis Fultz led the Tazewell Late Models to the green with Trammell sharing row one. Turn one was unkind to Fultz as he went high into the outside wall. Behind him several cars also had trouble with turn one and the pile up that followed forced a complete restart. This time Fultz got the lead but Trammell looked to be down in the clay some better than Fultz and the race was on. The leader got a scare on lap 9 when a lap car drifted in his line but by lap 13 Fultz had found a line that let him open up his lead. Phillip Nichols closed up on Trammell but by lap 17, simply could not pass. A caution flag was waved on lap 21 and that closed up the field to Travis Fultz for an exciting restart. Fultz took the excitement out by speeding away from Trammell for another win. It was his ninth win of 2010. In victory lane he dedicated the win to his father, Ronald.

Tazewell Late Model Results
1 T0 Travis Fultz
2 90J Jason Trammell
3 33 Phillip Nichols
4 31 Greg Estes
5 56J Jody Horton
6 O1 Travis Armes
7 1 Jimmy Calloway
8 28 Justin James
9 G7 Billy Gordon
10 79C Marty Calloway
11 14 Scott Grubb
12 73 Richard Atkins
13 21 Bobby Moore DNS

Next was the Tazewell Classics. Logan Dukes took off at the start and cruised away to his eighth Tazewell Speedway win. He signed shirts in victory lane to be given away to lucky fans.

Classic Car Results
1 6 Logan Dukes
2 9 Rocky Estes Jr.
3 17 Robbie Sands
4 5 Phillip Sands
5 8 Joe Keck
6 13 Adam Hicks
7 31 Robert Estes
8 4 Tom Conaway
9 88 Jim Yeary
10 34 Phillip Shockley DNS

The final race was the Hobby Stock and Pure Steet combined-feature race with six-hundred dollars on the line. Shannon Emory took the lead on the drop of the green but after one lap he would have to do it again due to a spin in turn two. The top three on the restart were Emory, Brad Davis and Jamie Witt. When the race resumed there was nothing that seemed to be in the way of another Emory victory but first he would have to withstand several cautions. His competitors drove all over each other back in the field trying to find a groove to catch him and the front of the field but on this night the winner would have to get by a fast and steady Emory. Kevin Smith by lap 9 had made it up to fourth and looked to be the pure streets' best hope of getting a win. He had a challenge on lap 13 but was able to pull away once more until a lap 20 caution slowed the pace down and called for another restart. The top three was still unchanged. Emory went on to win the feature over a hard driving Brad Davis and Kevin Smith.

Hobby Stock/Pure Street Shootout Results
1 M2 Shannon Emory
2 5 Brad Davis
3 58 Kevin Smith
4 6M R.J. Mayes
5 10 Tony Spoon
6 79 Jessie Wilder
7 1 Jamie Witt
8 77 Ray Jarnigan
9 4 Shannon Davidson
10 75 Chris Long
11 5 Jason Saylor
12 88 Danny Helton
13 93 Shane Farmer
14 97 Aaron Guinn
15 97 Bo Hall
16 30 Mike Mayes
17 2 Robbie Woods
18 7D No Name

Tazewell Speedway once again thanks all the workers, drivers, crews, sponsors and especially the fans for making the 2010 season a total success. We will welcome all of you back in April 2011 to begin another season of the "Bad-fast" Tazewell Speedway.