One week ago the crowd was on their feet watching the great exciting side-by-side racing between Travis Fultz and Jason Trammell. On this hot June night Gary Hall's Tazewell Speedway once again celebrated its young race fans. Every kid under 12 years of age received a free hot dog and Coca-Cola. The drivers also came out of the pits and joined in the festivities by signing photos and talking to the young and older race fans alike. However, the night was meant for racing and as soon as the hot laps were finished the cars took to the clay surface for the qualifying sessions.

Qualifying first was the Modified Street class and Brad Davis on his first lap back at the Taz this season laid down the quick time at 13.901 seconds in his newly assembled Chevrolet Camaro. Joining him with the Classic Division pole honors was Joe Keck with a fast lap of 14.911 seconds. The Tazewell Late models attacked the high-banks next and the fast lap was recorded by Travis Fultz at a time of 11.785 seconds. Joathan Miracle won the pole award for the Pure Street Class with a time of 15.356 seconds.

The Modified Street class were the first group of cars to race tonight. On the front row was Brad Davis and Warren McMahan. As the green flag dropped Davis fell back to second and Allen Holt found trouble as he suffered damage causing a restart. This time Davis took the lead and began pulling away. On lap four Davis fell off the pace victim of a right rear flat. McMahan took over the top spot with Tony Horton and Mike Simpson in pursuit. On lap eight the caution flag flew and lined up the cars for another chance at McMahan. On the start Jordon Horton got around Craig Moore for fourth. McMahan however, drove away and took the win over Tony Horton and Mike Simpson.

Modified Street Results:
1 33 Warren McMahan
2 56 Tony Horton
3 M7 Mike Simpson
4 26 Craig Moore
5 P21 Robbie Buchanon
6 56H Jordan Horton
7 21 Richard Carey
8 69 Nick Barnard
9 20 Scott Adkins
10 54 Larry Burke
11 XXX Josh Chesney
12 4 Clyde Overholt
13 88 Brad Davis
14 74 Steve Wilder
15 9 Darrell Saylor
16 24 Allen Holt

Next on the track was the Classics with the front row being made up of Joe Keck the "Hot Rod" and Robbie "The Rocket" Sands.
After one failed attempt to start the race Keck got the jump with Drew Kennedy and Sands in chase. On lap three Sands began to work the low side trying to get second back. A caution flag flew on lap seven. On the restart the top three were still Keck, Kennedy and Sands. Phillip Shockley got third on lap eight and went hard after second. The leader Keck, pulled away as racing contact between Shockley and a hard racing Sands ruined Shockley's hopes for second. Keck won his second race of 2010 while Kennedy finished second and Sands grabbed third.

Classic Car Results:
1 8 Joe Keck
2 57 Drew Kennedy
3 17 Robbie Sands
4 34 Phillip Shockley
5 4 Tom Conaway
6 5 Phillip Sands
7 31 Robert Estes
8 O3 Jim Yeary
9 88 Ed Merrimann
10 XXX Josh Chesney Tow Only

The kids took to the track next and were showered with thousands of pieces of candy just before the Tazewell Late Model feature.

On the front row of the thirty-lap feature event was the points leader and last week's winner Travis Fultz. Alongside him was Steve Carr. Fultz took the early lead with Carr and Brad Hall battling for second. Fultz made it through two early cautions and remained ahead of Carr and Hall until lap traffic got in the way. Hall got around Fultz as a caution flag flew for Phillip Helton who took a wild ride in turn four. Greg Estes got part of the incident and suffered a little damage on the front end of his ride. Fultz got slight damage also but thanks to the caution remained in first for the restart over Hall, Carr and Estes who was able to remain on track. Fultz got the lead again and Hall was bouncing off the outside wall trying to run him down. Gary Blanken spun on lap fifteen bringing out another caution and giving the top three another shot at Fultz. On lap sixteen the field lined up again after a caution with no changes in the top three. On lap twenty-three Hall used a lap car and took the lead but unfortunately made contact with another lap car and created yet another caution. Fultz was now the hunter and Hall the hunted. On the lap twenty-seven restart Hall looked faster than Fultz and pulled away as Carr began pressuring Fultz for second. With two laps to go the field lined up for one more restart. Hall had enough to pull away for the much earned win leaving Fultz in second and Carr third. The leaders found out that lap traffic at the Taz is always an adventure and many times a race changer.

Tazewell Late Models:
1 47 Brad Hall
2 T0 Travis Fultz
3 77 Steve Carr
4 31 Greg Estes
5 18 Anthony Burchett
6 15 Michael Rutherford
7 G7 Anthony Arnwine
8 0 Freddie Brock
9 8 Randy Davis
10 O5 Gary Blanken
11 56H Jody Horton
12 B00 Josh Henry
13 33 Phillip Nichols
14 24H Phil Helton
15 24 Andy Wilder
16 35 Matt Tharp
17 2 James England
18 111 Jay Allan Tow Only

Jonathan Miracle and Kevin Smith led the Pure Street class to the green. Miracle led the first six laps without incident but Smith found lap traffic to be tough as contact with Toby Turner left him stalled in turn three. Steve Smith benefitted from Kevin's tough luck and moved into second. Jason Long moved into third on the restart. Miracle had the field covered and drove away capturing the victory over Jason Long and Steve Smith.

Pure Street Results:
1 41 Johnathan Miracle
2 15 Jason Long
3 2 Steve Smith
4 97 Bo Hall
5 28 Justin James
6 12 J.J. Green
7 58 Kevin Smith
8 12H Travis Helton
9 11 Toby Turner
10 16 Will Carey
11 7D D.J. Litzinger Tow Only
12 17 Tim Stevens Tow Only

Making his first start at the Taz this year was kid favorite Kurt Owens in his 7-Up four-cylinder. On the front row was Bubby Braden and Allen Holloway. Chuck McMahan drove into the lead in just a few laps as Owens brought his car up through the field. Wayne Woodward broke on lap 11 and the ensuing caution created a restart that Owens hoped to use to his advantage. McMahan would remain at the point until the checkers flew. The hard-charging Owens dash to the front stalled at second place just ahead of Joey Allen who at one time had to restart from the rear due to mechanical issues.

Four Cylinder Results:
1 99 Chuck McMahan
2 7Up Kurt Owens
3 A00 Joey Allen
4 A27 Allan Holloway
5 B7 Bubby Braden
6 28 Justin James
7 97 Steve Lee
8 2 Wayne Woodward

The racing program concluded a little later than ususal (12:15) due to longer track packing efforts and all the kid's night festivities.

On July 3rd, Tazewell Speedway welcomes the World of Outlaws dirt late model series into town for the Coca-Cola 50 lap, $10,000 to win feature race. Once again the speedway will host the best of the best that dirt racing has to offer. Also racing will be the Modified Street class, Classics and Tazewell Late Models. Along with the fireworks on the track there will be fire in the sky as Tazewell Speedway celebrates the 4th with a fireworks show. For information on this and other Tazewell Speedway promotions log on to www.tazewellspeedway.net.