An overcast day gave way to bright hot sunshine just in time for the fans to arrive. The hobby stocks from across the mountain had a day off so they were invited to come over tonight and try to tame the Taz. The track was carefully prepared and the hot laps began and ended followed by qualifications. Taking the track first tonight was the Modified Street class and the fastest lap was recorded by Robbie Buchanon at 13.317 seconds. The Tazewell Speedway Classics hit the high banks next with the fastest time belonging to Joe Keck with a lap of 14.434 seconds. The rumble of the Tazewell Speedway Late Models was felt next as the drivers were looking to grab the pole for the feature race. The fastest time was put down by Jason Trammell. His 11.559 second trip around the Taz was good enough for his second consecutive pole and with that lap he broke his own track record set last week at 11.658 seconds. Shannon Emery took pole honors for the visiting hobby stocks with a fast lap of 14.492 seconds.

The racing program began with the Modified Street division. Robbie Buchanon took the lead away from Warren McMahan by the end of the first lap after McMahan had got an early jump on the field going into turn one. The race was follow the leader until a caution flag flew for McMahan on lap 13. In second was Allen Holt, third was now Jordon Horton. On lap 14 the leader lost a driveshaft and the complexion of the race was greatly changed. Holt had the lead now with Horton second followed by Clyde Overholt in third. Holt drove away to record the win. Holt is sponsored by P-P LLC and Get Gorgeous. He thanked all his sponsors and fans in victory lane.

Modified Street Results:
1 24 Allen Holt
2 56H Jordan Horton
3 4 Clyde Overholt
4 56 Tony Horton
5 26 Craig Moore
6 54 Larry Burke
7 3 Tim Hatfield
8 69 Nick Barnard
9 20 Scott Adkins
10 9 Darrell Saylor
11 P21 Robbie Buchanon
12 33 Warren McMahan

The Classics were next and Joe Keck took off with Phillip Shockley in tow. Keck liked the high side of the track and used it to stay ahead of Shockley. On lap ten Shockley was on the rear of the green classic car but could not get around. On lap 17 Shockley looked low and got even with Keck but he just couldnt clear. Keck Grabbed win number four on the season.

Classic Car Results:
1 8 Joe Keck
2 34 Phillip Shockley
3 5 Robbie Sands II
4 31 Robert Estes
5 2 Ron Rudder

Following his third place finish Robbie Sands II walked into victory lane for what appeared to many to be a simple interview; instead Robbie had set it all up. It turned out to be a proposal of marriage to his girlfriend Julie Ewing. After accepting his offer (and the diamond ring) the two embraced and took pictures with Robbie's car and the checkered flag.
Best wishes from the staff of Tazewell Speedway!

The Tazewell Speedway Late models were up next and were paced tonight by the Claiborne County Rescue Squad in honor of their late friend and co-worker, David Short. With heavy hearts the rescue squad did their jobs tonight but had a friend and his family in their hearts and thoughts. The green fell to start the race and Jason Trammell took the lead with Fultz along side. The two battled side by side until a spin by Mike Bright on lap 6 slowed the pace. Greg Estes was in the third spot on the restart with with Steve Carr all over him. Trammell looked to have the faster of the two machines and could pull away on the restarts. On lap 7 Fultz looked low but could not get the job done and lost ground. Jay Allan brought out another caution on lap 9 as his ride came to a stop in turn two. On lap 15 the leaders hit lap traffic and Trammell opened up a two-car advantage and drove through and around lap traffic for the win. Fultz had to be happy with second and Greg Estes held off Carr for third. Trammell's sponsors are TCC, Sun Electric Co. and A1 storage along with Fastlane signs. Trammell thanked his fans in victory lane.

Tazewell Late Models Results:
1 90J Jason Trammel
2 T0 Travis Fultz
3 31 Greg Estes
4 77 Steve Carr
5 56J Jody Horton
6 97 Keith Chapman
7 2 James England
8 15 Michael Rutherford
9 8 Randy Davis
10 33 Phillip Nichols
11 1 Jimmy Callaway
12 79C Mike Bright
13 111 Jay Allan
14 24 Andy Wilder
15 0 Ross White

The hobby stocks were next on the track and were led to the green by Shannon Emery. A spin on lap 2 brought out the caution and took away the lead that Emery had built up. The top three now were Emery, Devin Holland and Dustin Shaver. On the restart Emery opened up the lead once again until the car of Chris Long appeared to break a rotor and had to retire from the action. On the lap 7 restart Emery pulled away but the 88 of Danny Helton spun going into turn one and brought out another caution. Second through fifth place was left to battle it out for the runner up spot as Emery drove away for the win. Johnson and Shaver battled hard but fell in the end to a fast and consistent Emery.

Hobby Stock Results:
1 M2 Shannon Emery
2 17H Devin Holland
3 17 Chuck Johnson
4 7 Dustin Shaver
5 1 Jamie Whitt
6 88 Danny Helton
7 75 Chris Long
8 66 Daniel Reece
9 54 Bobby Reed

The Pure Street class was next and was led to green by Justin James and Dustin Eldridge. Eldridge led until lap 9. Tony Spoon made the pass for first and then the positions began changing for several laps up until a caution flag flew on lap 13. The top three were Spoon, Jason Long and Mike Daniels. Eldridge had slipped back to the middle of the pack and was involved in an incident that had brought out a second caution. Jonathan Miracle was tagged and sent for a ride in turn three and was lucky not to flip his car entering turn four. Spoon, Long and Daniels were the top three on the restart. Daniels benefitted from Spoon and Long getting together and drove away for the win in the night's most entertaining race.

Pure Street Results:
1 12 Michael Daniels
2 58 Kevin Smith
3 10 Tony Spoon
4 15 Jason Long
5 X Dustin Eldrige
6 41 Johnathan Miracle
7 10 Daniel Carpenter
8 2 Steve Smith
9 28 Justin James

The final race of the night was the Four-Cylinders. Joey Allen did not make the initial start but thanks to an early caution the race was not officially started. On the start Chuck McMahan had the lead but by the end of the third lap Allen had drove into second with Kurt Owens third.
McMahan was able to stay in front of Joey Allen and Kurt Owens to take the win. The race program ended tonight at 11:45.

Four Cylinder Results:
1 99 Chuck McMahan
2 A00 Joey Allen
3 7Up Kurt Owens
4 97 Steve Lee
5 B7 Bubby Braden
6 2 Josh Chesney
7 A27 Alan Hollaway

Next week's program, Saturday July 24th- will feature the Southern National finale- $ 5,300 to win event promoted by Ray Cook. The Super Late model feature will be supported by the Tazewell Speedway Classics, Modified Street, Pure Street and the Four-Cylinder classes. For information on this and other events log on to Gary Hall and the entire Tazewell Speedway crew would like to thank all the fans, crews and drivers for supporting the speedway. Tazewell Speedway has the best fans in the world







"The Proposal"