For the second year in a row the National All Star Racing Association dirt late models rolled into Tazewell, Tennessee to open the season. The race was originally scheduled to be held on Saturday night but agonizingly slow track preparation due to a rainy week forced Gary Hall and staff to move it to Sunday afternoon.

With the track ready and the sun shining Tazewell Speedway was ready to begin the second annual Charles Trammell Memorial race. After rolling the clay surface in on the 3/8 mile speed plant the hot laps and qualifications began. The NASRA dirt late models qualified first with Jason Trammell grabbing fast time with a 12.322 second lap around the Taz. Next to qualify was the modified street class with Jordon Horton grabbing the pole with a lap of 14.454. The classics took to the high banks next with Logan Dukes having the fastest lap time at 14.975 seconds.

The NASRA heat racing was up next with Steve Smith surviving a crash filled heat. Tommy Kerr and Chris Streeval had a tougher time as both sustained damage. Kerr completed the heat the Streeval did not. Chip Brindle won the second heat and led it wire to wire. In heat three Michael Chilton had to withstand a charge from Billy Ogle Jr. to get the win. In heat four action Vic Hill stayed well in front of Ronnie Johnson to take the win.

The modified street cars took to the track to begin the feature racing for the afternoon. Leading them into turn one was Jordon Horton with his father Tony Horton alongside. Clyde Overholt moved into second early and set his sights on Horton's 56H. The top three remained the same with Warren McMahan taking a look at third. A caution on lap 14 bunched the pack up for one more shot at Jordon Horton. On lap 16 contact between the cars of McMahan and a smoking Tony Horton left Horton parked on the front stretch. The race resumed and smoke began pouring out of the leaders machine. Both Horton cars somehow made it to the finish with Jordon holding off Overholt to get the win.

Modified Street Results: (1) 56H Jordon Horton (2) 4 Clyde Overholt (3) 33 Warren McMahan (4) P21 Robbie Buchannon (5) 56 Tony Horton (6) 88 Danny Helton (7) 20 Scott Atkins (8) XXX Josh Chesney (9) 17 Leonard Bray (10) 22 Jason Sizemore DNS

Up next was the classics with Logan Dukes and Joe Keck on the front row. Dukes got the early lead but mechanical problems put his machine in the pits giving the point to Keck. Phillip Shockley and Bart Baxter put on a show until lap seven. The race resumed without Baxter and had new second and third place; Phil Blackford and Jim Yeary. Keck stayed out front for the remainder and took the checkers.

Classic Car Results: (1) 8 Joe Keck (2) 12 Phil Blackford (3) 7 Bart Baxter (4) 7 Jim Yeary (5) 34 Phillip Shockley (6) Logan Dukes

The second annual Charles Trammell Memorial 40 was next and the NASRA dirt late models were ready to put on a show. Leading the 21-car pack to the green was Vic Hill and Chip Brindle. Hill blasted out to the point followed by Brindle and Steve Smith. On lap six the yellow flag was displayed after Chris Streevel made contact with the turn one outside wall nearly turning over. Jason Trammell was one of the few that was passing others early on as he began his attempted march to the front. When the race resumed lap thirteen saw Hill dealing with lap traffic. On lap 22 Brindle's car began smoking and fell off the pace. Vic Hill held nearly a half lap on second place when the caution flag was displayed for an idle Brindle. Johnson, Chilton and Ogle Jr. were putting on a good battle for third through fifth that was also interrupted by the yellow. On the restart it was now Hill, Smith and Chilton the top three. On lap 28 Brian Smith had a problem in turn three and had to leave the racing action. Hill led the field of now eleven cars into turn one and once again ran away on the start and took home the feature win. Charles Trammel's son and Tazewell Speedway legend Jack Trammell presented Vic Hill the winners check in victory lane.

NASRA Charles Trammell Memorial Results: (1) 1 Vic Hill (2) 3 Steve Smith (3) 97 Michael Chilton (4) 201 Billy Ogle Jr (5) 5 Ronnie Johnson (6) 4T Tommy Kerr (7) 22 Mike Weeks (8) 28 Jeff Wolfenbarger (9) 10 Chad Ogle (10) 56 Rohn Moon (11) 41 Christian Rayburn (12) 7 Brian Smith (13) T0 Travis Fultz (14) 13W David Webb (15) 21B Chip Brindle (16) 90J Jason Trammell (17) 71 Brad Hall (18) 31 Greg Estes (19) 25 Jeff Maupin (20) 30 Chris Streeval (21) 33 Phillip Nichols (22) 01 Arnie Fields (23) 14 Keaton Streeval (24) 11 J Allan

The pure street division raced next and was led into turn one by Jason Long and Daniel Carpenter. On the start a big incident in turn two left several cars stopped on the track but all would return and the green flag was once again displayed. Travis Helton took control of this one and ended his drive in victory lane.

Pure Street Results: (1) 12H Travis Helton (2) C5 Daniel Carpenter (3) 07 Tony Spoon (4) 26 Jason Whitaker (5) 77 John Stevens (6) 41 Jonathan Miracle (7) 28 Justin James (8) 2 Steve Smith (9) 15 Jason Long

The final race of the night was the four-cylinder race and Chuck McMahan picked up where he left off last year and that was in the Tazewell Speedway, Toyota Knoxville, Harley Davidson, Pizza Inn victory lane.

Four Cylinder Results: (1) 99 Chuck McMahan (2) A27 Allen Holloway (3) B7 Bubby Braden

The Tazewell Late Models will be in action on Saturday, April 9th and they will be racing for a $1,500 first place check. Log on to for schedule and other information. Thanks for supporting the Taz!