October 5, 2013 - Fans and drivers from all over the region gathered on a beautiful fall evening for the 3rd annual Fall Brawl and Chris Collinsworth Memorial and witnessed some of the best racing of the 2013 season at the world’s fastest 1/3 mile dirt track. Prior to hot laps trophies were awarded to the top three in points and rookies in each division.

Robbie Buchanan of Tazewell, crowned the 2013 Modified Street Points Champion, would set fast time among twenty entries for the $2000 to win Chris Collinsworth Memorial. Knoxville’s Jonathan Sims, who finished second at 411 Motor Speedway the night before would qualify second. As the field took the green and stormed into turn one Buchanan would get loose and allow Sims to slip into the lead followed by Clyde Overholt, Dakotah Knuckles, Tony Horton and Gary Blanken. Buchanan would drop pitside and rejoin the field at the back of the pack. The caution flag would fly on lap three as Blanken ran into engines woes spilling fluid on the track. On the restart a three-way battles ensued for the second spot between Knuckles, Overholt and Horton. On lap seven Knuckles would take over second and Horton would take over third. By lap twelve Sims would extend his lead to a full straight until lap fourteen when the caution came out for fluid on the track. By lap seventeen Warren McMahan, who had slipped back to sixth, worked his way through the pack to take third away from Horton. For several laps Knuckles had his hands full fighting off McMahan and Horton who were separated by mere inches. Knuckles would get loose on lap twenty-two allowing Horton to shoot by into second. On the next lap McMahan flexed his muscles as he took second away from Horton. Up front Sims put the HVG Motorsports, Davis Grading sponsored Monte Carlo on cruise control for his first Tazewell Speedway victory and picked up the $2000 first prize. Buchanan would fight his way back to finish fourth. Dakotah Knuckles would earn Rookie of the Year honors and Tony Horton was presented the Anthony Burchett Courage Award for his family involvement in racing and his accomplishments at Tazewell Speedway.

Modified Street
1. 30 Jonathan Sims
2. 33 Warren McMahan
3. 56 Tony Horton
4. P21 Robbie Buchanan
5. 21K Dakotah Knuckles
6. 88 Brad Davis
7. 1 Bradley Lewelling
8. 4 Clyde Overholt
9. 14 Kurt Owens
10. I1 Jim Ison
11. 14 Austin Atkins
12. 329 Appaches Quinton
13. 54 Larry Burke
14. 20 Scott Atkins
15. 1 David Clark
16. 1 Bartley Grant
17. 15 Jason Long
18. 01 Jerry Hux
19. 427 Jamey Adams
20. 5 Gary Blanken
21. 21 Jason Sizemore
22. 11 Toby Turner

Last week’s Tazewell Late Model winner Josh Collins would set fast time among nineteen drivers with a lap of 11.991 seconds and be the only one to qualify in the 11 second bracket and earn the pole for the feature paying $2000 to win. Matt Henderson would share the front row with Collins. As the field took the green and were coming out of turn four Henderson would drop out with a leaking valve cover gasket. On the restart Collins would lead the charge followed by Cory Hedgecock, who won the Fall Brawl at 411 Motor Speedway the night before, Jason Trammell, Greg Estes and Ross White. On lap four Steve Smith would make contact with Estes as they were battling for position. Estes would spin collecting Anthony Arnwine. Smith would be sent to the tail of the field for rough driving. Estes and Arnwine would retire with damage. By lap eight Josh Henry, who started seventh, would move into fourth and a few laps later would race side by side with Trammell for the third spot. Meanwhile up front Collins was weaving his way through lap traffic which allowed Hedgecock, in only his second start at The Taz, to close the gap on the lead. By lap twenty-three Collins as able to slip away to a ten car length advantage over Hedgecock and lead the rest of the way for his second Fall Brawl victory in the Tyler Jenkins Racing, SpaTacular Salon, JCM Components, A+ Electric sponsored Warrior Race Car powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine. Jason Trammell would pick up his second Tazewell Late Model Championship and seventh overall championship. Brian Shockley would earn Rookie of the Year honors.

Limited Late Models
1. 63 Josh Collins (Pending tire sample test)
2. 23 Cory Hedgecock
3. 90J Jason Trammell
4. B00 Josh Henry
5. 3 Steve Smith
6. 66 Mark Leach
7. 0 Ross White
8. 22 Matthew Holt
9. 18 Michael Rutherford
10. 24 Allen Holt
11. 7 William Overbey
12. 17 Brian Shockley
13. 81 Josh Evans
14. 31 Greg Estes
15. 11 Anthony Arnwine
16. 17 Matt Henderson
17. 28 Jerry Williams Jr.
18. 17 Wade Ramsey
19. 56J Jody Horton

Steve Carr would set fast time and earn the pole for the $800 to win Sportsman Invitational. In its inaugural season the Sportsman Division attracted fifty different drivers throughout the year. Carr would take the early lead trailed by Keith Chapman, Heath Alvey, Wayne Rader and Jordon Horton. Horton and Alvey raced door to door on lap eleven. Horton would spin on his own on lap thirteen and go to the rear of the field. On lap fourteen Carr would slide up in turn two allowing Chapman to take over the point and Alvey move into second. Chapman, who was crowned the 2013 Sportsman Champion, would lead the rest of the way for his seventh win of the season in the Trammell Construction, Fast Lane Signs and Graphics, Hatmaker Holdings, Warrior Studebaker SS. Derrick Shockley would earn Rookie of the Year honors.

1. 97 Keith Chapman
2. 7 Heath Alvey
3. 18 Rick Welch
4. 88 Billy Gordon
5. 35 Matt Tharp
6. 8 Mike Clonce
7. 29 Chris Raines
8. 01 Wayne Rader
9. 46 Derrick Shockley
10. 99 Jeff Day
11. 77 Steve Carr
12. 24 Andy Wilder
13. 56H Jordon Horton
14. 25 Justin Beeler

The Luttrel Leadfoot, Matt Tharp would lead every lap of the Classic Car feature and collect the $500 check in the Red Eyes Racing, Ronald McDonald House classic sedan. In Victory Lane Tharp dedicated the win to his mother who is battling cancer. Eli Keck was crowned Points Champion and Joel Wolfenbarger awarded Rookie of the Year.

Classic Car
1. 20 Matt Tharp
2. 24 Phillip Thompson
3. 18 Eli Keck
4. 1 Logan Dukes
5. 44 Richie Overholser
6. 13J Joel Wolfenbarger
7. 33X Cameron Skinner
8. 40 Chris Evans
9. 7 Bart Baxter
10. 74 Justin Overton
11. 2 Cliff Lane
12. 7 John Stevens
13. 8 Joe Keck