September 1, 2013 - The Southern All Star Racing Series kicked off a busy month of September on Sunday evening at Gary Hall’s Tazewell Speedway with the 5th Annual Buddy Rogers Memorial event and Billy Ogle, Jr. of Knoxville, TN would take the victory and $4,400 payday in the 44 lap main event contested in memory of the former East Tennessee racer. The win for Ogle, Jr. came aboard the Blount Motorsports owned Blount Excavating/Massey Electric/Al Blankenship Enterprises/Cherokee Millwright/Stowers CAT sponsored #201 Rocket Chassis powered by a Vic Hill Race Engine. The victory by the former series champion was his third Southern All Star Racing Series victory of 2013 and 11th overall for his career in SAS Racing Series competition.

It would be an all Clinton, TN front row as Jeff Wolfenbarger and Stacey Boles would bring the field to the green flag in the 44 lap, $4,400 to win 5th Annual Buddy Rogers Memorial A-Main, with Boles immediately grabbing the race lead and would set a torrid pace at the point. Boles would start lapping slower traffic by lap 6 and had drove to almost a full straightaway lead ahead of Billy Ogle, Jr. Boles would encounter a close call in traffic on lap 15 and damaged the right side of his entry, but maintained the lead as the first caution appeared when then fourth place running Jeff Wolfenbarger slowed on the track. The rapid pace by Boles only left 10 laps on the lead at the lap 17 restart and Ogle, Jr. would begin to challenge Boles for the lead and would make the pass exiting turn four on lap 21 for the lead. Caution would slow the pace one lap later when Mark Rosner of Rockford, TN slowed in turn three and only four more laps would be completed before a caution for debris waved on lap 26. Ogle, Jr. would maintain the top spot on the restart, while Vic Hill o Mosheim, TN would wrestle the second spot away from Boles and Tommy Kerr of Maryville, TN would take third from Boles on lap 30. Ogle, Jr. would work traffic masterfully over the final 10 laps to pick up a popular victory with the Tazewell Speedway faithful. Hill and Kerr would take second and third positions, while Boles and Bryan Hendrix of Knoxville, TN would complete the top five.

5th Annual Buddy Rogers Memorial A-Main Finish:
1. Billy Ogle, Jr.- Knoxville, TN
2. Vic Hill- Mosheim, TN
3. Tommy Kerr- Maryville, TN
4. Stacy Boles- Clinton, TN
5. Bryan Hendrix- Knoxville, TN
6. Daniel Baggerly- Rural Retreat, VA
7. Riley Hickman- Chattanooga, TN
8. Jeff Wolfenbarger- Clinton, TN
9. Jason Trammell- Powell, TN
10. Josh Henry- Newport, TN
11. Bret Holmes- Munford, AL
12. Brett Miller- Greeneville, TN
13. Jay Brunson- Dubberly, LA
14. Jody Horton- Sneedville, TN
15. Pierce McCarter- Gatlinburg, TN
16. Mark Rosner- Rockford, TN
17. Mike Weeks- Friendsville, TN
18. Brian Shockley- Thorn Hill, TN
19. Hugh Scalf- Newport, TN

Less than two weeks ago Heath Alvey of Dandridge sat at home recovering from minor surgery. Sunday night he would take his fifth win of the season in the Smoky Mountain Home Health & Hospice, A&B Seamless Guttering, Diversified Enclosures and Screens, Tinsley Bible Drug Company, Sammy's Auto Parts, Elite Dental, Supreme Towing, Mona-Vie sponsored Warrior Race Car powered by a Pro-Built Racing engine. Justin Beeler of Knoxville would set fast time and share the front row of the feature with Alvey. At the drop of the green Alvey would shoot out to the lead followed by Beeler, Wayne Rader and Keith Chapman. Alvey would put some distance between himself and Beeler until lap nine when the gap quickly closed. By that time Jordon Horton of Sneedville, who started seventh, had sliced and diced his way through the field to take the third spot. On lap eleven Horton used the outside line to muscle his way past Beeler for second.

1. 7 Heath Alvey
2. 56H Jordon Horton
3. 25 Justin Beeler
4. 18 Rick Welch
5. 34 Phillip Shockley
6. 88 Billy Gordon
7. 8 Larry Moore
8. 56 Hugh Scalf
9. 15 Wade Howerton
10. 01 Wayne Rader
11. 29 Chris Raines
12. 46 Derrick Shockley
13. 35 Matt Tharp
14. 97 Keith Chapman
15. 75 Chris Long
16. 14. Josh Evans
17. 79 Marty Calloway
18. 21 Brian Howerton
19. 18 Anthony Burchett

In Modified Street action Robbie Buchanan would set fast time and line up on the outside of the front of the feature alongside Brad Davis. Lap one would find Davis and Buchanan dueling door to door for the lead. Last week's winner Gary Blanken would dive down low in the turns trying to put his car into the mix. Buchanan would take the lead on the second circuit. On lap three Davis would bring out the caution as he slammed the outside wall in turn four. Buchanan would lead the remaining laps and score his fourth win of the season in the Petty's Wrecker Service, Robbies Auto Sales, O T's Frame and Body Shop, Christian Construction, P&P Cole, DJ's Performance Engine powered Monte Carlo.

Modified Street
1. P21 Robbie Buchanan
2. 5 Gary Blanken
3. 54 Larry Burke
4. 4 Clyde Overholt
5. 88 Brad Davis
6. 56 Tony Horton
7. 3 Brett Banks

Charlie Tharp and Phillip Thompson would start on the front row of the Classic Car feature. Thompson would take the early lead with Eli Keck moving into second. Robbie Sands would take second away from Keck on lap ten and set his sights on Thompson, who just happens to be his step-son. The duo would race side by side several times with Sands taking the lead on lap seventeen and scoring his second win of the season in the Flynn Carpet Services, PT Auto Glass Classic Car Sedan.

Classic Cars
1. 17 Robbie Sands
2. 24 Phillip Thompson
3. 13J Joel Wolfenbarger
4. 1 Shane Lockhart
5. 18 Eli Keck
6. 7 Bart Baxter
7. 3 Jason Beeler
8. 7 John Stevens
9. 44 Richie Overholser
10. 74 Justin Overton
11. 20 Charlie Tharp
12. 8 Gary Blanken

Kurt Owens of Newport would set quick time and lead every lap of the Four Cylinder feature. On lap nine the familiar 7UP Mustang's motor would start smoking and after a post race inspection was deemed to be legal. It would be Owen's second win in a row.

Four Cylinders
1. 7UP Kurt owens
2. 00 Joey Allen
3. 99 Chuck Mcmahan
4. 111 Randy Dyke
5. 14 Chad Manning
6. 44J Jeromy Collins
7. 007 Hayston Collett
8. 13 John Collett
9. 19 Brad Pressley
10. 2A Austin Fancher
11. 72 Rufus Collett
DNS 1 Jason Turner

Toby Turner of Harrogate would draw the pole position for the Pure Street feature for his best starting spot of the year. He would lead the field until lap three when he got loose coming out of turn four and was collected by Jason Saylor. Jonathan Miracle would inherit the lead and the win in the Dennis Whitaker owned Dodge Ram pickup.

Pure Street
1. 26 Jonathan Miracle
2. 94 Dustin Eldridge
3. 15 Jason Long
4. 11 Toby Turner
5. 26 Mike Nichols
6. 5 Jason Saylor

The next race scheduled for Tazewell Speedway will on Saturday night September 14th as we present the Buster Cupp Memorial. Pure Street will race for $500 to win.