Southern Nationals championship comes to Tazewell Speedway


For the 13th straight year, Tazewell Speedway hosts the final race of the Schaeffer’s Southern Nationals series presented by Reece Momument Company on Saturday, July 29. This year’s edition will once again pay $10,000 to the race winner.

Three drivers will battle it out at Tazewell Speedway for the series championship. Brandon Overton, Shanon Buckingham, and Donald McIntosh are locked in a title battle as the series draws to a close. One of them will claim the championship at Tazewell Speedway this Saturday night. Other series regulars such as Steve Casebolt, Craig Vosbergen, and Ivedent Lloyd, Jr. are also expected to be at Tazewell Speedway for the series finale.

Other expected drivers include Billy Ogle Jr., Vic Hill, Steve Smith, Chad Ogle, Dakotah Knuckles, Chicky Barton, Brian Smith, and more.

Also racing on Saturday will be sportsman, super stocks, classics, and four cylinders. The Tazewell Late Models will not be racing.

General admission tickets are $25 for adults with kids 9 and under admitted free with a paying adult. Pit passes are $40. Pit gates open at 3:00 and grandstand gates open at 5:00. Racing will start at 7:45.

The Tazewell Motor Lodge is the official host hotel for Tazewell Speedway. Go to for their web site or call 423-626-7229 to make a reservation.

Media credential requests must be submitted by Friday, July 28 at 12 noon. to Michael Moats at

Tazewell Speedway is located just two miles northwest of Tazewell, Tennessee. Going north on US 25-E, turn right and then left onto Bacchus Rd, and then 1.8 miles north, then .8 miles west and the race track is located on the left. For additional information, visit or call 865-626-2222.

Updated: July 25, 2017 — 12:54 PM
© Tazewell Speedway (All images are property of Tazewell Speedway and shall not be used without permission)