The O’Reilly Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series ventured to the Volunteer State on Saturday evening and when all was said and done, Vic Hill of Morristown had conquered the high-banks of the "The Taz"a $4,000 payday in the 50 lap main event. Twenty-seven Super Late Models were on hand and in practice laps the track was tacky and fast.

In qualifying, four time Tazewell Speedway Track Champion Rick Rogers shattered the six year old record with a time of 11.047 seconds eclipsing the time set by Scott Bloomquist in 2003. Hill would also surpass the time set by Bloomquist with a time of 11.074 seconds. Victor Lee, the defending BoB Series Champion would qualify third. The trio would easily win their respective preliminary heat races which determined the starting field.

The start of the feature would see outside polesitter Lee pitside with mechanical woes, unable to start. This would move Hill up to the front row alongside Rogers, his longtime competitor and clsoe friend. Once under green, Rogers would gain the advantage with Hill, Chad Ogle, Tommy Kerr, Shon Flanary in tow. The race would see several cautions and on each restart Hill would use the bottom groove to try and pass Rogers. The duo pulled away from the field and it seemed like the only chance Hill would have to overtake Rogers would be when they caught up to lap traffic. The final caution came on lap 40 when Michael Smith came to a stop on the track. On the ensuing restart Chad Ogle would start putting pressure on Hill for the second spotm while Hill turned up the heat on Rogers for the lead. On lap 45 Rogers moved to the middle groove of the track which allowed Hill to go topside and pass for the lead and take the win. This would be the first Battle of The Bluegrass victory for Hill in the LandAir Transport, Pilot Travel Centers, Miller Brothers Coal, American Race Tires sponsored GRT Race Car powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine.

O'Reilly Battle Of The Bluegrass Super Late Models
1.1 Vic Hill
2.44 Rick Rogers
3.10 Chad Ogle
4.4T Tommy Kerr
5.201 Billy Ogle Jr
6.5 Bryan Hendrix
7.1 Michael Chilton
8.18 Tim Tungate
9.D8 Dustin Linville
10.13W David Webb
11.11 Bobby Wolter
12.30 Jeff Neubert
13.47 Chris Combs
14.4 Michael Smith
15.7 Brian Smith
16.2 Danny Yoder
17.16 Justin Rattliff
18.25 Brad Hall
19.3 Steve Smith
20.98 Shon Flanary
21.90J Jason Trammell
22.14 Terry Wolfenbarger
23.33 Aaron Hatton
24.4 Victor Lee

In Modified Street action Charlie Rouse of Rose Hill, Virginia earned his first pole lining up beside Brad Davis for the feature. Rouse would lead until lap two when his car got loose allowing Davis to take the point. Davis would hang on for his first win of the season in the Petty's Wrecker Service, West Haven Speed Equipment sponosored Camaro.

Modified Street
1.88 Brad Davis
2.7 Dustin Shaver
3.31 Greg Estes
4.24 Charlie Rouse
5.21 Dustin McMurray
6.3 Tim Hatfield
7.24 Allen Holt
8.69 Nick Barnard
9.54 Larry Burke
10.20 Scottie Atkins
11.77 Chris Collinsworth
12.4 Clyde Overholt
13.17 Leonard Bray
14.1 Wayne Overholt
15.26 Anthony Morgan
16.21 Donnie Petty
17.15Dustin Harville
18.56 Tony Horton
19.33 Warren McMahan

Brad Hall of Knoxville, TN set fast time in Limited Late Models and started alongside Mark Leach. At the green Leach would take the point with Hall, Jason Trammell, Travis Fultz and Steve Carr battling for the top five. Hall set his sights on Leach and on the second lap would slip pass Leach in turn four for the top spot leading the rest of the race. After the race Hall's motor was protested and at press time the results were unofficial as a camshaft from Hall's engine was sent off for verification.

Limited Late Models
1. 47 Brad Hall ***(protest pending)***
2. 90J Jason Trammell
3. 66 Mark leach
4. T0 Travis Fultz
5. 32 Greg Huskey
6. 33 Phillip Nichols
7. 77 Steve Carr
8. 31 Greg Estes
9. 18 Michael Rutherford
10. XXX Josh Chesney
11. 97 keith Chapman
12. 77 Jimmy Calloway
13. 24 Andy Wilder
14. 28 Billy Gordon
15. 7B Mike Bright

Jordon Horton shared the front row of the Pure Street feature slongside Steve Smith. The duo battled door to door until lap eight when Horton dropped out with mechanical woes. Just when it looked like Smith would cruise to the win, his car overheated on lap sixteen, ending his night. This would give the lead over to Morristown's Jason Long, who had been working on his car since the early morning after wrecking the previous night at another track. This would be Long's second win of the season.

Pure Street
1. 15 Jason Long
2. 56 Jordan Horton
3. 12H Travis Helton
4. 11 Kevin Smith
5. 12 Michael Daniels
6. 47 Walter Disney
7. 79 Jessie Wilder
8. 2 Steve Smith
9. 3 Michael Boyd
10. 27 Gary Harville
11. 10 Daniel Carpenter
12. 22 Charlie Davidson
13. 43A Robert Armes
14. 97 Bo Hall
15. 25 Steve Harmon
16. 16 Will carey
17. J35 John Chesney

In the 4 Cylinder feature last years points champion Chuck McMahan of Newport, TN would win his first feature of the season in the Mr.Plumber, Hitch Race Engines powered Mustang.

4 Cylinder
1.99 Chuck McMahan
2.7UP Kurt Owens
3.K9 Cheyenne Kite
4.A00 Joey Allen
5.19 Brad Pressley
6.13 Scottie Frazier
7.J5 Jamie James
8.7 Bubby Braden
9.007 Hayston Collett
10.10 Bobby Lovin
11.A27 Allen Holloway

This Saturday night May 30th will be Kids Night at Tazewell Speedway. Kids in two age classes will compete in a foot race. The winning boy and girl from each age class will win a new bicycle and trophy. All competitors will receive a free Tazewell Speedway t-shirt. Also in action will be Super Late Models, Limited Late Models, Modified Streer, Pure Street, and 4 Cylinders.


Winner's photos from May 23, 2009